AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 355 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Downloaded the sw kit.

I unzipped the sw kit.


I first installed Avisynth. With the Avisynth in the sw kit you don't need to replace the avisynth.dll as shown in the video.


Then I install ffdshow.


During the install of ffdshow there is a page that's called "Select Additional tasks", I check these boxes besides what's already checked:

mpeg2: libmpeg2

vc1: wmv9

raw video


Then after ffdshow is installed there is a final page that says "Run ffdshow video decoder configuration", so I check that box then press Finish.


Now ffdshow video decoder configuration pops up, here is how I set it up.


From the codecs tab I scroll down to mpeg2 and highlight it and check the "dvd decoding" box, then I click apply.


From the Decoder Options tab I uncheck the "Detect soft telecine and average frame durations" box, then I click apply.


Then I scroll down the check boxes until I see the Subtitles check box, and I click it with my mouse and hold down the mouse button and drag the subtitles check box to the top of the list, so it's right below Decoder Options.

Then I go through every list in subtitles and make sure every box is unchecked, so the subtitles checkbox has all the boxes unchecked, the titles sub list has all the boxes unchecked, then I press apply.


Then I drag the avisynth check box so it's right below the subtitles check box, and I check the avisynth checkbox and uncheck these boxes in the avisynth tab:

"add ffdshow video source"

"yuy2"

"rgb24"

"rgb32"

Still in the avisynth tab, I check the Buffers back/ahead box and leave the values at 10 10.


Then I check and drag the resize & aspect check box so it's below the avisynth check box, and this is how I setup the ffdshow resize & aspect check box:

I check the Multiply by circle and set it to the value of 1.000

I check the "No Aspect ratio correction" circle, then I click Apply.


Then I scroll down to the Output tab and uncheck these boxes:

"yuy2"

"yvyu"

"uyvy"

"rgb32"

"rgb24"

"rgb16"

"rgb15"

"High quality yv12 to rgb conversion"

"select closest matching colorspace"


I leave the YV12 check box checked, then I press Apply and OK to close the ffdshow video decoder configuration.


Third, I install Matroskasplitter.


Fourth I unzip mpc-hc and put it on my desktop.


Fifth, in Windows 7, I open windsfiltertweaker and go to the Preferred decoders tab and the 32 bit decoders to use ffdshow, specifically these decoders:

h.264

xvid

divx

mp4v

vc-1

mpeg-2

Then I click Apply and Close.

Then I check the tweaks tab and disable the "Microsoft dtv-dvd video decoder", then I click apply, close and then exit.


Sixth, I unzip the plugins folder and go to this folder C:\\Windows\\SysWOW64 to put the fftw3.dll.


Then I drag and drop the other dll’s into that folder and accept when it asks if I want to modify those dll's into the C:\\Program Files (x86)\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins folder.


You can tell it's the right folder because Directshowsource.dll is in that folder.


For non-64 bit windows you would put the fftw3.dll into the C:\\WINDOWS\\system32 folder, and the other plugins go into the C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins folder where directshowsource.dll is.


Seventh, I open media player classic home cinema player, and go to the "View, Options, Output" tab and check vmr9 windowed.

Then I go to the "view, Options, External filters tab" and check the Add filter box, and add "ffdshow video decoder", that set ffdshow video decoder to "Prefer", Click Apply and Ok to close the options box.

Then I go to "view, options, internal filter" and check every box.


Reboot and then put a movie in the computer and then open the movie with mpc-hc using the file tab and go to the dvd drive to open the movie.


___________________________________________



video guide at youtube link .
sw kit. Updated May 8, 2011.



overview

____________________________________________

Step 1.) install software: avisynth before ffdshow.

Step 2.) configure ffdshow digital audio

Step 2.) configure ffdshow analog audio

Step 3.) configure ffdshow video

Step 4.) configure media player classic

Step 5.) install avisynth plugins

Step 6.) Reboot, twice.


pictures

____________________________________________

________ FFDshow configuration options ________

- for vista, use aero. for quality.


FFDshow configuration options.



________ upscaling ffdshow configuration ________

Codecs tab

Set Mpeg2 to Libmpeg2, and check "DVD decoding".

Set Avisynth to Avisynth, Raw video to All supported

Decoder options tab

Uncheck "Detect soft telecine and average frame durations"

Subtitles tab, Unchecked

Uncheck "Decode closed captions"

Uncheck "Accept embedded subs"

Uncheck "Accept SSA, ASS, ASS2 Subtitle (experimental)

Vobsub subpage, uncheck Vobsub Enable.

Avisynth tab checked

YV12 checked,

Add FFdshow Video source Unchecked,

3:2 Pulldown box: Ignore Pulldown checked,

check Buffer back/Ahead: 10, 10

Code:
Code:
setmtmode(5,0)
SetMemoryMax(512)
video=ffdshow_source().changefps(ffdshow_source(), linear=true)
A=video
setmtmode(2)
SetMemoryMax(712)
B=a.Spresso_JD()
C=a.SeeSaw_JD(B).limitedsharpenfaster(strength = 11)
return C
GetMTMode(false) > 0 ? distributor() : last
Resize & aspect tab checked

Process whole image checked

Specify horizontal and vertical Resize: 1920, 1080 (or your monitors resolution)

Process Pixel aspect ratio internally checked

No aspect ratio correction checked

spline

Luma Sharpen: 0.00

Luma Guassian Blur 0.50 (On small monitors like laptops it's best not to use this. Set it to 0.00)

Accurate rounding checked

Output tab

yv12 checked



________ Media Player Classic ________


Click the View button. Check only the top three in the drop down list.

Click options.


Click the output tab, and set Directshow output to vrm9 windowed.

Directshow Audio: Select Reclock Audio Renderer


Click the External Filters Tab.

Click the Add Filter Button.

Double click the filters you want. You'll need;

FFdshow Audio decoder

FFdshow video decoder


________ Potplayer ________


Run the potplayer installer.

Open Potplayer and right click the screen,


Set the renderer to use madvr:

Video, Video Renderer, click "Madshi Video Renderer"


Set FFDshow to be the video decoder:

- Filters, Advanced Filter Settings, video decoder, filter management, press "scan", press "Ok".

Now in "Video decoder" press the drop down menu and set all the filters to use ffdshow video decoder, press "Ok".


To open a DVD, go to:

Right click screen, "Open", "Open Directory", "Computer", highlight the DVD drive, click Ok.


________ FFdshow Audio Decoder: Analog ________


Codecs tab


- Uncompressed Tab

Set it to "32 bit integer"


Mixer tab

- checked

I use 5.1 speakers so I set the number of speakers to 5, and check the Lfe box.


Output tab,

- Select 32 bit integer.


________ FFdshow Audio Decoder: Bitstream HD Audio in Windows 7 ________


Install Haali Media Splitter


Step 1


Codecs tab


- Uncompressed Tab

Set it to "All Supported"


Output tab,

- Passthrough boxes: ac3, dts, dolby digital plus, dts hd, dolby truehd are checked.

- Connect as PCM first is unchecked

- Supported output formats: check only 16bit, 24bit.

- Check direct to file


Step 2


Put the files from the bat folder into the system32 folder. To register the bat files you need to get permission to, here is how to do that.

- Using MPCVideoDec.ax as a example. Right click and select Properties.

Go to Security, Advanced, Owner tab, Edit, Hightlight Administerators, click Apply.

From the MPCVideoDec.ax properties, security tab, click Edit. From the Group or user names list, highlight each one and make sure it has Full Control checked.

Click ok and close the properties tab.

- Do this for these three files: MPCVideoDec.ax, MpegSplitter.ax, regsvr32.exe.

- Then right click the MPCVideoDec bat file and run as Administrator. It should successfully register the .ax file.


- For 64 bit windows. Put the MPCVideoDec.ax, MpegSplitter.ax into the system32 folder and the MPCVideoDec bat, MpegSplitter bat files into the syswow64 folder.

Change the permissions for the MPCVideoDec.ax, MpegSplitter.ax, regsvr32.exe as usual.


Step 3


- Run the reg file in the My Documents folder.


Step 4


- Run the Win7DSFilterTweaker.

Under the "Preferred Directshow decoding filters in Windows 7" tab, set H.264, and VC1 to MPCVideoDec.

The "Media Foundation" tab is left at default.

Under the "More Tweaks for Windows 7", check "Disable Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder", "Disable Media Foundation".




________ Software ________

Potplayer
Win7DSFilterTweaker
Haali
FFDshow. Updated May 8, 2011.
media player classic home cinema. updated March 13, 2011
Avisynth: custom build I made


________ Optional Software ________

J River
spdifer
Reclock

Test disks for comparison.


________ Plugins ________


plugins: link. Updated May 8, 2011.


\\\\\\\\\\ List of the nessessary Avisynth plugins to go in the plugin folder. 9 in total.



\\\\\\\\\\ fftw3.dll goes into the System32 folder.

If your using a 64 bit version of windows, put the fftw3.dll into the SysWOW64 folder, instead of the system32 folder.


C:\\Windows\\System32

C:\\Windows\\Syswow64


\\\\\\\\\\ I use the ati 4670 and the 11.2 drivers.

I use hdmi to my 1080p tv.

The pixel format I use is full rgb: 4:4:4

I use a intel E6600 cpu, 2GB ram, Sata HDD, Sound card


Pictures

____________________________________________
Spdifer (For DTS and AC3)



profiles



ffdshow



media player classic



avisynth plugins folder



link to a different guide that shows you how to setup profiles


________________________

See this link for Frame Doubling, or Frame Interpolation.

 

LimitedSupport_09Jan06B.zip 37.8486328125k . file

 

lsf_seesaw_spresso.zip 5.650390625k . file

 

autolevels_0.6_20110109.zip 96.3984375k . file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
hi 8:13.. Im sad to notice that the old thread is gone.. but nice to see a new one.


I was testing the "Step 2.) replace ffdshow.ax"


mpg1 videos seems not to work with it... I also had to replace ffdshow to a new version cause the one that you provide in the package dont work with certain wmvs and the replaced ffdshow.ax file



One question that I posted in the old thread:


"how do I enable postprocessing with WMV?".


I know that h264 has his own debloquing. For wmv the prosprocessing tab of ffdshow seems not to work ( I can use SPP debloquing for example and image is not processed... no high cpu usage... so that mean that prostprocessing is off when playing wmv?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,780 Posts
These instructions seem very thorough, but daunting.


I'm currently using VMC and MediaBrowser to play ripped VOB files from my media server. Will following this guide yeild a noticable PQ improvement over my current setup? Is this configuration easy to maintain?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
I'm going to ask a really silly question, but I honestly don't know the answer.


If I'm running Windows Media Center on Windows 7 (or even Vista), with screen resolution set to 1080p (1920x1080), and I'm playing a DVD inside WMC, isn't the video being upconverted by the Windows codecs? (assuming that I don't have any other codecs installed)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
885 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by weneversleep /forum/post/17057826


I'm going to ask a really silly question, but I honestly don't know the answer.


If I'm running Windows Media Center on Windows 7 (or even Vista), with screen resolution set to 1080p (1920x1080), and I'm playing a DVD inside WMC, isn't the video being upconverted by the Windows codecs? (assuming that I don't have any other codecs installed)

Yes, by default your video card driver resizes (up-converts) video to the screen resolution when in full-screen mode.


The advantage of FFDShow is that you can manipulate the algorithms used to do that resizing by using your CPU to run the numbers instead of your video hardware, and then output the finished product to the video card just for display.


This freedom to manipulate the signal is very appealing to HTPC hobbyists.


In addition, it is a flexible codec that can decode more formats than most, so if you have an old Divx file or such, there is no need to install a different codec just to play that one file. However, this thread is strictly about improving DVD's.


For example, if the installed video card does not de-interlace well but you have a powerful CPU, FFDShow can fix that.


If the image looks too dull or blurry, FFDShow can help.


If you wished standard DVD looked a bit closer to 720p HD material in terms of overall impression, FFDShow can help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I just want to say that thanks for this thread and the old one, never would have known how great avisynth was without it. Some questions though. I've been using this script to IVTC some interlaced movies.

Code:
Code:
TFM(order=1,chroma=false)
TDecimate(mode=1,hybrid=1,conCycle=1,chroma=false)
Is there any way to combine the mid range ffdshow script with this or is it either or? Also, what benefits does using the ffdshow version + ffdshow.ax bundled in the package have over installing the lastest build?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,377 Posts
AVISynth as part of a videoprocessor shootout (?)


Hey guys, I have been on the AVS board for quite some while now, but that's actually my first posting in the HTPC section. I'm in the midst of creating a (standalone) videoprocessor shootout. The results will be recorded in 1080p24, encoded in VC-1 and uploaded. Part of the task force are an Anchor Bay Technologies processor (VP50Pro), a Gennum VXP machine and a HQV Realta processor and I'd love to include a "reference" AVISynth script as well.


Since I don't use a HTPC I'm not this familiar with AVISynth. I've used it for filtering captured material, but nothing too fancy. And since I see quite some potential inside this thread, I ask kindly for your help.


Fight for your way of post processing ! Bedazzle me with the best possible quality AVISynth can achieve



What I ask for:


a) source will be a film-based NTSC DVD, ripped to HDD and frameserved with either DGIndex or VirtualDub

b) Deinterlacing and IVTC has to be included.

c) Postprocessing (NR, sharpen, Deblocking) as you like

d) Output must be 1080p23.97 in YUV and Video Levels (16-235)

e) it should be running in real time on my Q9550S (Quadcore 2.83GHz)

f) no audio.


I know that most part of the stuff above is about FFDShow, but I wouldn't know how to frameserve FFDShow's output into an encoding tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Thanks for updating this thread.


I just built a new win7 HTPC and this really helped getting going just like the last guide got my XP system working great.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,377 Posts
Thanks again (probably easier to continue here than by PM on the d9 board)!


Got your standpoint on the IVTC issue, no problem, I'll work this out!


I'm still wondering about the performance issue. The script doesn't give me more than a few fps on my CPU. Now, I don't mind working with an encoding after all, but I would like to get your opinion on the script's performance compared to (for example) your usual FFDShow setup.


Does FFDShow use more than one core on current Quadcore setups ? The AVISynth script only uses a single core, so FFDShow could potentially deliver four time the performance after all....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,377 Posts

Quote:
The results of the script I gave you are equivalent to the realtime version using ffdshow and media player classic

That's what I needed to hear! Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts
No its not hardcoded , it's soft-sub and happen only with MPC-HC built-in subtitle engine .

So I have to disable MPC-HC subtitle and use ffdshow subtitle instead
.It's no big deal but I just don't like ffdshow 's subtitle engine ...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
I love the frameratedoubling effect and Im thinking that having this effect enabled to everything that appear into the computer window would be amazing. (that also would solve the problem of 1080 videos and framedoubling)



Exist any computer monitor with the frameratedoubling technology?



or.. if connect the computer to one of these TVs...

lg truemotion

samsung motion plus

sony motionflow


.. the image is so nice than using a monitor conected through the DV-i cable?


plz.. if anyone have experiences about using computer thought the TV.. and truemotion effect enabled (desktop.. games usage.. etc).. plz comment



I also wonder if exist any videocard that enable the framerate effect to everything on the screen. Would be nice having the GPU to do the framerate interpolation and not the CPU

(maybe a 3rd part driver)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
thanks for the info 8:13 really instructive



My idea was use the framerate effect to certain games that does not have a "smooth" movement.. cause the animation dont provide for example 60 images per sec... but you are true... if the desktop is already running at 60hz.. I could not get extra interpolated frames.


-----------------------------------------------

.--------------.-.-.----------------------------


Im pretty sure that you have checked everything to do frameratedoubling..


the 1080 problem seem a task that needs extra processing.


DO you know if these new CUDA-nvidia cards implement this technology?


maybe we will have to wait for other frameratedoubling proyects or sofware updates....


anyway my big question is?


What CPU use these TVs with motionflow/truemotion etc?

they can do the framerate effect without problem... and why our quadcores cannt handle it at 1080?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by travolter /forum/post/17165962


thanks for the info 8:13 really instructive



My idea was use the framerate effect to certain games that does not have a "smooth" movement.. cause the animation dont provide for example 60 images per sec... but you are true... if the desktop is already running at 60hz.. I could not get extra interpolated frames.

If you want your games have fluid motion then simply upgrade VGA card , no ? Just turn of Vsyn to get your game fps higher than screen Refreshrate , but game motion is less complex then real motion so anyway It just doesn't look like smooth for me even @ 200fps .


Quote:
the 1080 problem seem a task that needs extra processing.

Have you tried 64bits processing ? 1080p( 1920x1080) video Framedouling work better for me in windows7 64bits , It still get quite amount frame drop for me but watchable in some scene not all (which 32bits do horible ) .

My CPU @ 3,4ghz , I think If I push up to 3,8 would run it fine but I dont want overload cpu @ that speed .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
8:13


you are true !
the 3d technology will be a really hit when available .. so its better wait for these screens to appear. Framedoubling+3D will provide a very "Real" experience




fallengt


Are you using framedoubling in x64?

you need all these tools:

- ffdshow x64 (available)

- player x64 (available)

- avisynth x64 (no idea if available)

- mvtools2 x64 (no idea if available)

- MT.dll x64 (no idea if available)


or simply using the x86 versions into a x64 OS just work better?


I notice that I have enough CPU to move and process the movie.. anyway I think that there is a bottleneck somewhere ..



maybe the video driver is the problem?

the video bandwidth have a bottleneck with x86?


plz fallengt tell us how do you use framedoubling into your x64 system



also resizing to 720.. and applying some ffdshow filters the CPU meters are in the middle of scale and the framedropping is noticeable.


I tested many drivers for my nvidia card and since version 186.18 everything goes better


maybe some unnofficial or tweaked drivers can solve these problems. The videodrivers are a new field to test, and Im pretty sure that some bottleneck is present there
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
314 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by travolter /forum/post/17170295


8:13


you are true !
the 3d technology will be a really hit when available .. so its better wait for these screens to appear. Framedoubling+3D will provide a very "Real" experience




fallengt


Are you using framedoubling in x64?

you need all these tools:

- ffdshow x64 (available)

- player x64 (available)

- avisynth x64 (no idea if available)

- mvtools2 x64 (no idea if available)

- MT.dll x64 (no idea if available)

Yes Avisynth 64 does available , It's in software pack at 8:13 first post .When I said x64 ,it mean 64bits processing so It does work better than x86 .

CPU graph only shows average CPUs usage over time , In truth there are some frames require more power than other thus peak CPU over 100% (the graph only shows average so you can't see it) .If your cpu can't run fast enough encode those frames then frameskip happen .


Edit : I forgot to tell that you can add more threads to speed up .This work for me
Quote:
setmtmode(2,8)

Last=ffdshow_source()

setmemorymax(550)

setmtmode(2,8)

super = MSuper(pel=1,hpad=16,vpad=16)

backward_vec = MAnalyse(super,chroma=false, blksize=16, isb = true, search=5, searchparam=1)

forward_vec = MAnalyse(super, chroma=false, blksize=16)

MFlowFps(super, backward_vec, forward_vec,num=2*FramerateNumerator(last), \\

den=FramerateDenominator(last), mask=0)

distributor()

Watchable in some fullHD movies of mine , haven't got time to test all .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
thanks for the tips fallengt


I usually use (2,24) but the rest of the script is the same.


Im not really sure if currently x64 will provide better performance than x86

(im not x64 expert) but if some element of the chain is not x64 (mvtools2.dll and MT.dll) for example... all the processing will become x86? .
 
1 - 20 of 355 Posts
Top