Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am fairly new to video capture but technically competent as I am a computer programmer. I have a dell inspiron 8600 laptop with 128mb ati 9600 video card, usb2, firewire, 60gb 7200rpm HD, 768mb ram, 4x dvd+rw. I would like to use this to record video from tv and also use it convert my old vhs tapes to dvd for archive purposes.

What is good hardware and software for getting my vhs content onto dvd? I can currently put the vhs onto hi8 tape through my camcorder and then feed that into the laptop via firewire but that is tedious and I am wondering if I am losing quality doing that. Is there a better way I should be looking into? If I could use the same hardware at least to get video from tv shows and the vhs tapes on dvd that would be very cost effective and a good option.

Also, in the near future I will be taking the plunge into HDTV as I will be getting some new HT equipment so it would be excellent to have a way to record HD content on the computer too. Is this possible? What do I need to get to do this?

There is so much HT equipment, hardware, software out there I could go broke trying to get something working so I really appreciate your suggestions. I want the most cost effective option. I didn't think spending hundreds on a pvr or dvr was smart as it is hundreds of dollars for basically a hard drive. I don't know much about this though so let me know what works well.

Thanks!

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Still hoping to get some advise on this.

I was looking at usbhdtv .com and was wondering if anyone had any input on this solution.

Sorry I couldn't post a hyperlink as I don't have the required 5 posts yet

Thanks

·
Registered
779 Posts