AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Denon 3803 receiver, SVS 20-39 PCi, and Klipsch Quintet Microsystem speakers. I've been mulling over new speaker choices for around two months now. Initially I was going to go with bookshelf fronts and wall mounted surrounds. Now I'm working on changing my mind about that.

The trouble with most surrounds I've looked at is extension. Initially this didn't bother me because I planned to use an 80Hz crossover. Some recent movies, such as Underworld, are making me question my decision. I have a feeling the near future will bring more movies demanding lower extension for the surrounds. I want to be prepared for this.

Now I'm leaning towards having my surrounds capable of 60Hz extension or below. Though I love my PCi I'm very tempted to upgrade to an SVS PC-Ultra or infinite baffle setup. If I go with either of those I'd like to have a lower crossover, say 60Hz.

The problem I've run in to is the speakers I was planning to buy, Ascend Acoustic 340s, are not exactly ideal for surround use. They are pretty large, heavy, rear ported bookshelf speakers. I sent a fax with a detailed room diagram to David at Ascend regarding this issue.

I suppose I could use 340s on their custom stands as surrounds but this certainly won't give me the 2-3' above ear level mounting position recommended by Dolby. For those of you using "full range" surrounds, what have you done?

FWIW, my room is 14w x 20l x 8h. It is not open to any other room. My seating position is approximately 10' from the screen, 6' from the rear wall, and 7' from each side wall.

·
Registered
3,074 Posts
irrespective my floor standing front LR can go down to 50hz i still set all speakers as small so all sub bass to subwoofer