AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know why most in-wall speakers are rectangular and 2 & 3-way configurations and ceiling speakers resemble car speakers?

The home we purchased has in-wall speakers (SpeakerCraft 6.0 RT) in the ceiling. They sound like nothing but mid-range. I will be building a box to enclose them, which should help.

I'm wondering if I should just replace them with, "normal", speakers.

Any experience or opinions on using in-walls in the ceiling?

·
Registered
109 Posts
I'm fairly new to all this myself so I can't give you an expert opinion. I think In-Ceiling speakers are round so they blend in a little better & have the look of a light/smoke detector. I'm curious to see what you come up with as I am planning to use in-ceiling speakers in my new house for rear surrounds. I have all the wiring in place but I haven't decided on a speaker or wether or not to use the wiring at all.

Jeff

·
Registered
187 Posts
An installer I talked to said that they prefer circular speakers for in-ceiling use because of ease of installation. With rectangular, you have to pay a lot of attention to getting them aligned correctly and any slight misalignment (where the speaker is not 'parallel' with the walls) is easily seen. With circular this is not an issue.

He said this doesn't apply when the rectangular speakers are mounted in a wall because you can use a spirit level to get a more exact alignment.

I thought that if I was paying an installer to do the work, I would expect him to take the extra trouble to make sure they were aligned correctly. But since I'm going to install mine myself I took his advice and bought circular speakers for my ceiling.

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
I think it has to do with the way the sound is intended to reach the listener.