AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the HC-X900 for a couple of years to capture action at RC aero events and publish my work to YouTube. Challenging from a cam perspective because the subjects are often fast moving. Most features of the cam get really tested. I'm considering going to 4K and wanted to ask for recommendations. Optical Image Stabilisation, good FPS, and quality viewfinder are really important. Any recommendations appreciated?

Examples of my work
85% scale RC Pitts Biplane
youtube.com/watch?v=lSLNoqxtjXQ

Huge scale RC ME-262 jet
youtube.com/watch?v=P1xsCp1h-rw

Thanks - Dom (Essential RC)
facebook.com/groups/essentialRC

·
Registered
533 Posts
I suppose your options are for the newer Panasonic cameras. The first 4K camcorder is the 970 or 870 which is an upgrade for the 850. It has the same image sensor size. The 4K cameras have a shorter usable zoom range and, if this is important, the non 4K 770 would be a better choice.
The viewfinder is the weak point as very few Panasonics have one. The 4K HC-X1000E is the first in the range. Since my Canon HV20 back in 2005, I have never used a viewfinder simply because the on-board mics pick up all the operator sound. I started then with the LCD and have never needed a viewfinder since. Both my Panasonic V700 and V750 have LCD which work perfectly in all light conditions and I have never needed my screen shade even in the brightest sunlight. IMO the viewfinder has now become redundant and is just extra cost, The LCD is usable in all conditions and essential for tripod work.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·