AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to digital music having used Vinyl until 1994 and pretty much nothing except cheap computer speakers since then.

I have Just invested in the following.

Yamaha RX V3800 receiver.

Creek evolution Cd Player

Monitor Audio RX1 Speakers Fronts

RX Centre

Vector V10 rears

Paradigm DSP 3400 Sub

I love the sound I am getting now however I have been advised that if I added a Valve DAC to the Mix between the CD and Amp my sound would be warmer richer etc

Listen to mainly Classical guitar, Jazz and Old Style. Rock Deep purple etc with the occasional symphony or concerto thrown into the mix

Any opinions good or bad and what would your recomendations be

Budget Would be around $1000-1500

Cheers

·
Banned
20,735 Posts
You already have what should be a very nice CD player. Much debate about whether different DACs even sound different at all. I believe they do, but even when they do the difference is subtle or minute.

You didn't list any room treatments in your list of stuff. Spending $100 on room treatments will GROSSLY best any $1,000-1500 you could gain on a DAC.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know the Cd is a great player. I was specificaly advised to use a Valve DAC. No room treatments done. What would you recommend. BTW Only have to worry Decor wise about a very uncaring labrador Mix

·
Banned
20,735 Posts
"I was specificaly advised to use a Valve DAC."

Perhaps by someone making a comission selling you that DAC...?

If you already have an extremely satisfying high-quality CDP, why the desire to upgrade anything.

Acoustics is far more significant an issue, the most fundamental part of any audio system.

·
Registered
2,270 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by laughalot