AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm posting this just to make sure everyone is aware of it. I purchased Velodyne DS-10 subwoofer about a year ago and I'm yet to have it setup correctly. Velodyne clearly claims in the manual and literature that the subwoofer includes 3 optimization options.

The following is straight from Velodyne product page:


Quote:
You can modify the bass optimization further using the Auto-EQ function with your TV, remote control and microphone. The DS-10 manual helps you in this process. A microphone and mini XLR mic cable are included.

In reality, there is no way to setup "Auto EQ" because there is no CD. I spent hours on the phone with their customer support with no resolution, The guy finally tried to walk me through a simple "Self EQ" which I already knew about and which doesn't really do any thing other than a basic calibration with no consideration for integrating the sub with the rest of the system. The manual mentions a CD for this process, but Velodyne turned around and claimed that "no, this was never the case" and that it does not come with a CD. Any one who knows anything about audio would realize immediately that there is no way to run the Auto EQ without test tones playing through the system. I tried using my own test tones, sweeps, white noise, pink noise and several other methods using a tone generator but every time the Auto EQ fails and reverts back to Manual. Manual setup maybe more complete and even better, but is too complex for me and I'm not sure I can do it correctly.

In my Opinion, Velodyne is deceiving consumers and is doing themselves a huge disservice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,432 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hk2000  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service/0_80#post_24466706


I'm posting this just to make sure everyone is aware of it. I purchased Velodyne DS-10 subwoofer about a year ago

And you're just now coming on here to complain about it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,432 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchong  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service/0_80#post_24467842


hk2000 are you sure you need a CD?


I thought you'd just need to plug in the mic and hit the EQ button on the remote.

That's what I'd assume. Similar to my SMS1 EQ's. They have their own built in test tone. Plug in the mic and go.


It doesn't seem like the OP is interested in help though; just blasting Velodyne.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,122 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24468092


That's what I'd assume. Similar to my SMS1 EQ's. They have their own built in test tone. Plug in the mic and go.


It doesn't seem like the OP is interested in help though; just blasting Velodyne.

The DS10 has audio output which provides the test tones. I'm not sure why the OPis going on about regarding a CD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
536 Posts
I'm a nerd and had to look it up. From page 38 (page 41 of the PDF file) of the DS-10 manual :
Quote:
Running Auto-EQ Optimization – Stepping Up in Power

The next level up in the Digital Servo EQ optimization methods is Auto-EQ optimization. To perform Auto-EQ optimization:

1) Set up the microphone as in the Self-EQ instructions above.

2) Connect your subwoofer to your TV video input as described above in the make Video Connection between TV and Subwoofer section.

3) Make sure the subwoofer and your audio system are both on.
4) Place the Digital Servo Sweep Tone CD into your disc player and press play.

5) Once the sweep tone starts to play, adjust the receiver or processor output level to about the level of a normal-loudness conversation at the mic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,432 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvinfig  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service/0_80#post_24469513


I'm a nerd and had to look it up. From page 38 (page 41 of the PDF file) of the DS-10 manual :

OK, that's cleared up. I'm still curious why he waited till a year later to whine about it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24466746


And you're just now coming on here to complain about it?

Not complaining just stating something that I thought I would find on a "Velodyne Owners Thread" but didn't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchong  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24467842


hk2000 are you sure you need a CD?


I thought you'd just need to plug in the mic and hit the EQ button on the remote.

That would initiate the Self EQ which is the first of 3 optimization methods listed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24468092


That's what I'd assume. Similar to my SMS1 EQ's. They have their own built in test tone. Plug in the mic and go.


It doesn't seem like the OP is interested in help though; just blasting Velodyne.

I don't think there is help- Velodyne's own "tech support" couldn't help and ended up suggesting I use the Self EQ or the Manual EQ ( which I ended up doing). I'm not blasting Velodyne, I've always regarded their subs to be the best, but that does not make them infallible. I posted an issue on one of their sub-woofers that is currently available for sale on their site, Anyone considering it deserves to know this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24469622


OK, that's cleared up. I'm still curious why he waited till a year later to whine about it.

Actually, I contacted Velodyne when I got it, wondering why I can't find the CD in the box. After many calls and a lot of back and forth with several people in their customer service, they realized that the Manual was wrong and that this sub does not come with a CD and that hey would fix it on the product page to let buyers know that it does not come with a CD. So now there is a disclaimer on the page stating that, but the fact remains that Auto EQ will not work as described in the Manual ( it relies on a non existent CD). At the time I just went with the Self EQ, but it never sounded right to me, just because I did not post it here does not make the issue less significant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by warpdrive  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24469224


The DS10 has audio output which provides the test tones. I'm not sure why the OPis going on about regarding a CD.

That is interesting, I didn't think of that, but you'd think Velodyne's Support would suggest it. Thanks for pointing out though, I'll try it this week-end.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24466746


And you're just now coming on here to complain about it?

I think it fair to vent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,432 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service/0_80#post_24481597


I think it fair to vent.

Um, a year later? It's generally easier to come on here, state your concern, and ask for advice. He wasn't interested in finding a solution, just ragging on a company.


I bet if it would have been stated differently and in a more positive way; the answer would have presented itself quickly, and with no drama.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24481982


Um, a year later? It's generally easier to come on here, state your concern, and ask for advice. He wasn't interested in finding a solution, just ragging on a company.


I bet if it would have been stated differently and in a more positive way; the answer would have presented itself quickly, and with no drama.

And if it didn't occur to me to ask for help on AVS forum at the time, that makes it an illegitimate issue? I don't get it, what's your issue? If you have a solution, great, otherwise, ignore my post. I'm not really expecting a resolution here. Again I just wanted to make the issue known for anyone considering the purchase of this sub. If you have a vested interest in Velodyne (employee, dealer...etc) then you should state the fact and come from that angle, otherwise you just sound like a fan-boy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,604 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hk2000  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24470667

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24466746


And you're just now coming on here to complain about it?

Not complaining just stating something that I thought I would find on a "Velodyne Owners Thread" but didn't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchong  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24467842


hk2000 are you sure you need a CD?


I thought you'd just need to plug in the mic and hit the EQ button on the remote.

That would initiate the Self EQ which is the first of 3 optimization methods listed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24468092


That's what I'd assume. Similar to my SMS1 EQ's. They have their own built in test tone. Plug in the mic and go.


It doesn't seem like the OP is interested in help though; just blasting Velodyne.

I don't think there is help- Velodyne's own "tech support" couldn't help and ended up suggesting I use the Self EQ or the Manual EQ ( which I ended up doing). I'm not blasting Velodyne, I've always regarded their subs to be the best, but that does not make them infallible. I posted an issue on one of their sub-woofers that is currently available for sale on their site, Anyone considering it deserves to know this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24469622


OK, that's cleared up. I'm still curious why he waited till a year later to whine about it.

Actually, I contacted Velodyne when I got it, wondering why I can't find the CD in the box. After many calls and a lot of back and forth with several people in their customer service, they realized that the Manual was wrong and that this sub does not come with a CD and that hey would fix it on the product page to let buyers know that it does not come with a CD. So now there is a disclaimer on the page stating that, but the fact remains that Auto EQ will not work as described in the Manual ( it relies on a non existent CD). At the time I just went with the Self EQ, but it never sounded right to me, just because I did not post it here does not make the issue less significant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by warpdrive  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24469224


The DS10 has audio output which provides the test tones. I'm not sure why the OPis going on about regarding a CD.

That is interesting, I didn't think of that, but you'd think Velodyne's Support would suggest it. Thanks for pointing out though, I'll try it this week-end.





Use the EQ output to feed the L & R receiver inputs. Seems like the EQ output in the DS-10 contains the test sweeps. Read item G.


No need for a sweep CD if that is the case!



 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24481982


Um, a year later? It's generally easier to come on here, state your concern, and ask for advice. He wasn't interested in finding a solution, just ragging on a company.


I bet if it would have been stated differently and in a more positive way; the answer would have presented itself quickly, and with no drama.

ABSOLUTELY


Did you ever try to get a call back from Velodyne? I am going on 4 months myself.


and you would be very wrong as customer service does not know their products except superficially.


If fact, your post is provoking as heck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,604 Posts
The cut sheet for the DS-10 says that a video EQ and an audio EQ cable are supplied with the unit. Did anyone think about why the cables came with the DS-10?


Funny that the owners manual never told you what to do with the audio EQ cable and referred you to the sweep CD instead of the EQ sweep output connections.


 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Palmer_Cass  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485281


The cut sheet for the DS-10 says that a video EQ and an audio EQ cable are supplied with the unit. Did anyone think about why the cables came with the DS-10?


Funny that the owners manual never told you what to do with the audio EQ cable and referred you to the sweep CD instead of the EQ sweep output connections.


Mine simply does not work although it did when I first set teh EQ. I moved it to a second sytem and reran it with Velodyne on the phone as I had other issues as well) and it did not work at all (EQ).


It seems to make some of the test sounds but does not hear them yet the microphone works as it picks up my voice just fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,604 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485290

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Palmer_Cass  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485281


The cut sheet for the DS-10 says that a video EQ and an audio EQ cable are supplied with the unit. Did anyone think about why the cables came with the DS-10?


Funny that the owners manual never told you what to do with the audio EQ cable and referred you to the sweep CD instead of the EQ sweep output connections.


Mine simply does not work although it did when I first set teh EQ. I moved it to a second sytem and reran it with Velodyne on the phone as I had other issues as well) and it did not work at all (EQ).


It seems to make some of the test sounds but does not hear them yet the microphone works as it picks up my voice just fine.



So you ran the receiver's LFE / R & L audio output cable(s) into the DS-10 LFE / R & L inputs as well as the DS-10 audio EQ and video EQ cables into your receiver, and the auto EQ does not work?


If that is the case, then your unit must be defective.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Palmer_Cass  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485299


So you ran the receiver's LFE / R & L audio output cable(s) into the DS-10 LFE / R & L inputs as well as the DS-10 audio EQ and video EQ cables into your receiver, and the auto EQ does not work?


If that is the case, then your unit must be defective.

Yeah, plus you have to tun it on, turn it off and turn it back on to get it to play. Although sometimes it starts after turning it on just once.


It does not go into standby mode. Other inconsistencies as well.


Strange really.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,604 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485315

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Palmer_Cass  /t/1521991/velodyne-ds-10-false-marketing-and-horrible-cutomer-service#post_24485299


So you ran the receiver's LFE / R & L audio output cable(s) into the DS-10 LFE / R & L inputs as well as the DS-10 audio EQ and video EQ cables into your receiver, and the auto EQ does not work?


If that is the case, then your unit must be defective.

Yeah, plus you have to tun it on, turn it off and turn it back on to get it to play. Although sometimes it starts after turning it on just once.


It does not go into standby mode. Other inconsistencies as well.


Strange really.


Do they have a warranty service center near you?


If not I would try to get Velodyne to send you a new DS-10 "amplifier" covered under the 2 year warranty. I would not send the entire subwoofer back for service due to shipping damage that could occur.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,334 Posts



Above

This is what it produces when running the self EQ.


Below, this is what it ran the the first time I self EQ for another system, worked fine, the only issue back then was that it did not go into standby and it needed two tries to start.

 
1 - 20 of 47 Posts
Top