AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After changing the fans on the PJ, suddenly it stopped working.

No sound, no Image, just a very acute sound coming probably from power supply.

The only thing alive on the projector is a red led near the blue lent, between power supply and that lent.

Please help.

·
Registered
496 Posts
Disconnect the fans as a test- maybe you wired one backwards and it is loading the power supply down?

Can you better describe the sound??

--Kieth

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The lens are out, the fans are out, and the sound remains.

If I disconnect a small board above the power supply in the middle of green and red lens, then the sound will go off.

This small board have two small wire bobbins and a small blue component with four connectors. (sorry for my description but my degree is on computer science, not electronics)

The sound is not loud, it is high pitched whine as in very high frequency.

·
Registered
4,018 Posts
jvm,

It's probably time to change the capacitors in the power supply. At the age of those machines, this is a common failure. It's a pain to get the boards out, but it's doable. My own 1030 is making similar sounds intermittently and I have to do the same service. A long shot might be to test the horizontal out transistor and all the fuses, but the filter capacitors on pretty much all these units are at the end of their life. We will see more 10xx units die in the near future. In the long run, re-capping is the only solution. Excessive ripple from the power supply will cause other failures if not corrected. On a final note, look at all the boards and see if you can spot any cracked solder connections. Even if you find any or hit the projector and it starts working again, I highly recomend you change the capacitors anyway.

Marc

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hello,