AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My projector (NEC MT1040) will only accept a component input via a VGA (15 pin) connector. According to the manual there are several menu options which are only available when the projector is being driven with a component signal.

The question...is component generally better than VGA or should I do all the image manipulation on the PC and simply use a standard VGA signal?

My instinct is that I'm doing the right thing now (driving the projector at its native resolution from a VGA distribution amplifier) but I'd just like to get some opinions from those of you with more experience since this is my first projector. BTW - the image I get now looks pretty fantastic, but I'm a geek at heart so it's important for me to explore *all* opportunities to make things more complicated. :D:D:D

Best Regards,

Kevin.

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
If you have suitable cables and a nice signal, both will work well I believe.

If component offers advantages over VGA, the Key Digital transcoder has been said to be indistinguishable from a straight-through connection when reviewed.

·
Registered
283 Posts
I have the same PJ...

I don't understand what you mean by component input. Please explain.

I am currently running this PJ with an HTPC via the VGA input. IMHO, it looks fantastic.

But, like you, if I can get it to look even better... I am willing to spend countless hours and sleepless nights researching and tweaking and wiring to get even the slightest perceptible shade of improvement. :)

My friend down the street has a CRT that I am always in competition with...

Thanks,

Paul

·
Registered
1,979 Posts