AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all you PJ guru's!

I am new to the HT game and in need of some advice. I have a 16'x17' room semi dedicated, 90% light controlled (some east facing windows on the 2nd floor room will be heavy curtained shortly). It has been prewired by my builder for 7.1 surround and I have had special cabinets made in the back to house my components so I don't have to run a really long HDMI run to my PJ. I will be using a Motorola HD cable box, PS3 for bluray and gaming, as well as xbox360 and wii. The room will primarily be used for movies and games, perhaps some football this season. Here is my question: I have been looking very heavily at the panny ae3000U projector. Impressed by features and abilty of machine, not so much by the price-lots of coin for a 1st attempt. I stumbled across the viewsonic Pro8100 last night and am very impressed. Not only with the price, but the specs and the brightness I have heard lots of people wooing over. I realize there are a lot of differences to the two pj's. I am really drawn to the viewsonic due to the price. If I save some coin on my 1st PJ I can buy a nicer screen and still have some coin to upgrade in a couple years if I decide to. I just need some owners of this PJ to give me an idea about throw distances-is 15' close enough to give me a 106" screen? Does height matter? My cielings are 9' and the pj wil be shelf mounted in the back of the room. Are lamps easy to get for this bad boy? If I could save 1/2 on my PJ it would be a wonderful thing. This being my 1st attempt at an HT, I really want to do it right, and set myself up for a life long pursuit of home theatre greatness. I want to have something to be proud of, but I also know theres always room to grow and learn more about this highly addicting new hobby. Thank you all in advance for your much needed and appreciated advice.

·
Banned
3,453 Posts