AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

This is my first post in this great forum, i've learnt a lot here!

So.. i'm really new to buying projectors (this'll be my first) so i'm far from an expert even if i have read a lot about projectors the last few days...

First, some background, projection room information:
  1. Projector will be in a room which is 14" deep by 8.75" tall by 10.8" wide
  2. Projector will be initially put on a table where it can be 6.5" to 9" from the wall, at a height of 1".
  3. Room has some ambient light (when looking at the wall to be projected on, ambient light comes in from the left, also a little from the back of the room)

Now, some usage information:
  1. I would like to watch some TV in the day, but will use it mostly for movies (home theater style) at night time when almost no ambient light gets into the room. What i mean by this is that I need it to be bright enough to handle some ambient light in the day but not too much for it to be not too bright when dark!
  2. I'm not crazy about 3D, its not a requirement. (I get dizzy when i watch 3D movies anyway) Wouldn't mind giving it a shot in the future.
  3. I'm not from the US, i live in Venezuela where access to US $ is very limited and are not cheap at all, therefore my budget is very limited (sadly) and can only get a sub 1000$ projector.
  4. 1080p is a must!
  5. Big warranty is always good, even if using it can be challenging (since i'd be taking the projector out of the US). Although having a large warranty brings me some peace of mind.
  6. I'm sure i'm missing some key information so, please ask away!

I've been looking into lots of projectors (mostly on amazon) and reading lots of reviews and so far i'm in between these two which apparently have great reviews and are inside my budget:
  • ViewSonic PRO8200 789$ (Cheaper, No 3D but dont care, "Crossover" projector, good for ambient light and dark rooms, 1.5:1 zoom!)