AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Finally I took some pictures of my small theater I've been enjoying since 2017. This year I did a little upgrade and I think it's safe to say I'm good for a while.

Pretty much everything you see is inhouse design. No commercial products except for the gear of course. Average age of the gear is roughly 20 years so I think most if it qualifies as vintage. ;)

However, I had significant help from @Roger Dressler, who I accidentally met online back in 2008. Since then he's been very generous by sharing his knowledge and because of him I was starting to realize the scope and grandeur of advanced home cinema systems. There were also many others whose experiences helped me perfect this room.

Besides good home theater experience I wanted great stereo sound as well. This was achieved only recently by adding fourth sub and spending many hours setting all the sub filters. Despite learning a lot in this process it was still quite a challenge. I went for the Harman curve becasue flat response sounded boring. Turned out slightly elevated low end was my preference all along. I just didn't do any measurements in my previous setups. I was lucky!

This is my fist dedicated room so there was a lot of testing and experimenting. What I'do differently? Bigger room!

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Construction details:

Power wiring. Plenty of power sockets came handy when trying different gear positions.

Hoses for cables. 5 cm diameter is way too small!

Floor insulation.

Drywall. Right side of the ceiling slanted for a better symetry. Knauf anti-vibration construction was used.

Atmos wiring. Caught the last train as drywall was finishing in 2014.

The rack back door open in another room.