AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to this home theatre hobby so I know I have come to the right place if I need some help.

I am in the early planning of a home theatre room in my basement.

The dimensions of the room will be:

7 feet H, 14.5 W, 24 ft L

I want to buy i very good projector and I have seen the Runco LS3 at a dealer and I was very impressed.

Another dealer carries the Vivitek line and explained to me that the unit is also DLP but unfortunately did not have it for viewing.

I live in Toronto and the model # is H5085 which I was told is an upgraded model to the H5080.

This model # appears not to be available in the US but it is available in Canada and Europe.

Does any one know much about this model and what the differences are between the 2 models? How does a Vivitek compare to the Runco?

I plan on using a motorized screen made by Seymour AV.

I would appreciate any advice about my proposed setup that you guys can offer. I think a comfortable seating distance for me will be about 14-15 feet.

What size of screen do you think would be best in my scenario?

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
You are lucky. I had the runco LS-3 for 1 month to do a review for a local hi-fi magazine and now have the vivitek H5085 at home for a review also. Just installed it yesterday.

It is a nice unit, but the runco is superior, especially if you dont intend to do a full calibration, as the vivitek does need it. the runco is ISF calibrated and has the best overall gray scale OOTB that i've seen. The ls-3 is also better for overall image sharpness. It is noisy though if used with the powerfull mode, but the PQ is so nice that i didnt mind.

I would go for the LS-3 as it came also with a free second bulb.

From what i saw on another review, there are not much differences between the H5080 and H5085.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiman /forum/post/20341808