AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi -- I am new to this message board and I'm looking for some advice. I just bought a new condo and am looking to install a flat screen tv in my family room.

I want something around the 50 inch range. I'm not sure whether to go with lcd or plasma or if I really need a 1080p tv right now. These are the three options that I am looking at right now. I'm looking to spend around $1500. I don't yet have a Blu-ray or HD-DVD player but would look to get one in the next year or two. Other than that I would just hook up a PS2, upconversion DVD Player and a Comcast HD receiver. Viewing distance will be around 7ft. Also, the family room will be entirely windows on one side. Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.

Vizio Gallevia GV47LF - 47in. LCD - 1080p

Vizio VP50HDTV - 50in. - Plasma - 1080i/720p

Samsung HPS5033 - 50in. - Plasma - 1080i/720p

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
160 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by decke /forum/post/0

Hi -- I am new to this message board and I'm looking for some advice. I just bought a new condo and am looking to install a flat screen tv in my family room.

I want something around the 50 inch range. I'm not sure whether to go with lcd or plasma or if I really need a 1080p tv right now. These are the three options that I am looking at right now. I'm looking to spend around $1500. I don't yet have a Blu-ray or HD-DVD player but would look to get one in the next year or two. Other than that I would just hook up a PS2, upconversion DVD Player and a Comcast HD receiver. Viewing distance will be around 7ft. Also, the family room will be entirely windows on one side. Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.

Vizio Gallevia GV47LF - 47in. LCD - 1080p

Vizio VP50HDTV - 50in. - Plasma - 1080i/720p

Samsung HPS5033 - 50in. - Plasma - 1080i/720p

Thanks in advance for your help.