AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,


I'm new to the forums here and I did some searching, but could not come up with an answer. I turned my TV on this morning and it said there is a firmware update that is being applied and that the tv will restart once finish. Low and behold, the TV didn't restart, instead the Vizio logo is blinking from amber to white. It does this intermittently and then stops for a while until i attemp to turn the tv on again, and the amber to white starts again. I tried holding the power button down with the power cable unplugged for 30 seconds, but that did not work.


Has anyone had this problem, if so, how do I fix it? Also, is there a way to do a manual hard reset on the TV?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,622 Posts
oh brother I hope u didn't get impatience and unplugged it while it was flashing (updating) the firmware. If u got a confirmation that it finished updating, ur good. Google/search how to "cold boot vizio."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not get impatient. I waited around 10 mins after the TV turned off, but the logo still blinked amber/white. I tried googling "cold boot vizio" but didn't get anything. Do you happen to know the steps on how to do that?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,366 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarigand /forum/post/20981307


I gave them a call, they didn't know what to do.

Try calling again...ask for tech support and elevate if you have to. Just be nice.



Have you tried unplugging the TV say for a half hour or so and then letting it go through it's startup? You probably have, but I'm just asking......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I did keep it unplugged, but no dice. They keep offering to send someone over, but the TV is out of warranty as I bought it off a person on craigs list.


I am debating on replacing the Power Supply Board as that is a typical problem with these tv's. Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,622 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarigand /forum/post/20981307


I gave them a call, they didn't know what to do.

Ask him, Are u even an employee of Vizio or are you paid just to pick up the phone?


U guys are scaring me about Vizio, after THIS thread .

THIS GUY says u can factory reset a Vizio. Try that, should be in the manual.


Replace PSU if u want but does it strike u too coincidental that it fails as it's tried to update the firmware? Try harder finding a software solution. Google "vizio cold reset boot factory firmware reboot maintenance mode..."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb /forum/post/20984750


Ask him, Are u even an employee of Vizio or are you paid just to pick up the phone?


U guys are scaring me about Vizio, after THIS thread .

THIS GUY says u can factory reset a Vizio. Try that, should be in the manual.


Replace PSU if u want but does it strike u too coincidental that it fails as it's tried to update the firmware? Try harder finding a software solution. Google "vizio cold reset boot factory firmware reboot maintenance mode..."


I am having no luck with finding a way to "cold boot". I can't even get the tv powered on. I would pop the fuse if there was one, but it's saudered in. And there is no "reset" button inside the TV after I opened it. So, don't know what to do, other than buy the PSU, or call a 3rd party to come and take a look
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,366 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarigand /forum/post/20984906


I am having no luck with finding a way to "cold boot". I can't even get the tv powered on. I would pop the fuse if there was one, but it's saudered in. And there is no "reset" button inside the TV after I opened it. So, don't know what to do, other than buy the PSU, or call a 3rd party to come and take a look

Since you really don't know what the problem is, I would let an expert look at it before trying to fix it yourself.


Ask Vizio what it would cost for a diagnosis. Ask them if you should decide to repair the TV, if the diagnosis cost can be rolled into the entire repair cost.


Call some local repair companies and ask for diagnosis/repair prices.


Until you know what you are dealing with.....small repair......large repair......it's hard to make a decision.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by cawgijoe /forum/post/20985208


Since you really don't know what the problem is, I would let an expert look at it before trying to fix it yourself.


Ask Vizio what it would cost for a diagnosis. Ask them if you should decide to repair the TV, if the diagnosis cost can be rolled into the entire repair cost.


Call some local repair companies and ask for diagnosis/repair prices.


Until you know what you are dealing with.....small repair......large repair......it's hard to make a decision.

I took your advice and went ahead and called HDRepair. Hopefully they will tell me whats wrong during the diagnosis.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,366 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarigand /forum/post/20989319


I took your advice and went ahead and called HDRepair. Hopefully they will tell me whats wrong during the diagnosis.

Let us know what they say. Good luck!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb /forum/post/20977361


oh brother I hope u didn't get impatience and unplugged it while it was flashing (updating) the firmware. If u got a confirmation that it finished updating, ur good. Google/search how to "cold boot vizio."


Ok - I have a similar problem and may have unplugged it while flashing orange/orange rather than white/orange.


My XVT553SV lost sound while watching a streaming netflix movie on Thursday (through the set app). The set remote ceased controlling the set and I pushed the power switch (jog switch) - the tv shut off to an orange logo. When I pushed the power switch the set did not come but flashed orange/orange for a while with no screen action. I unplugged the set for a few minutes, plugged it back in and got the screen to light with the vizio "V" in the center - after a few minutes with no change, the screen went dark and the orange/white logo flashed. Then the cycle repeats endlessly. I tried holding down the jog switch with it unplugged per vizio customer support. No change. I've got a service call set for Monday.


I'd welcome any thoughts. Mr. Bobb - it sounds from your message that I may have interrupted the flash. Anything I can do if that's the case?


Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Alright. I have replaced the PCB and Mainboard. Signs of life seem to be coming back. Now the logo is just lit up White, but no picture. I am thinking of attaching my network cable to the back of the TV and seeing if that helps, or i might just change out the inverter board. Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I'm scheduled to have the main board and power supply board replaced on Monday. During the diagnostic call (and from my own observations) we verified that the backlight unit is still working. The tech's expectation was that only the main board would need to be replaced. If both need to be changed, cost will be $370+150 for the diagnostic call. Grrrrr.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwlorraine /forum/post/21020237


I'm scheduled to have the main board and power supply board replaced on Monday. During the diagnostic call (and from my own observations) we verified that the backlight unit is still working. The tech's expectation was that only the main board would need to be replaced. If both need to be changed, cost will be $370+150 for the diagnostic call. Grrrrr.

which part is the backlight unit? i am getting a white vizio logo, but no picture or sound and there is only one more part on this TV that i can replace, so might just take that chance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Mine just did the exact same thing 9/25.


I was watching a show when suddenly the picture went out but the Vizio logo stayed lit white. Remote control power button didn't work. The power button on the side of the unit didn't work. I had to unplug the power cable from the back.


After booting up, logo flashed for 5 minutes or so until it stayed on amber. It felt like an eternity. I hit the power button and the V showed and the TV started working correctly again. I hope this is not a start to something inconvenient in the future....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarigand /forum/post/21022025


which part is the backlight unit? i am getting a white vizio logo, but no picture or sound and there is only one more part on this TV that i can replace, so might just take that chance.

The backlight unit is the led array that lights behind the screen - if you've got the back off you will see it light around the edges. If the main screen lights then the backlight is working. In addition to the main board and the power supply board, I also saw a video board (near the top center of the tv). Tech told me the primary failure he's seen has been the "main board" with occasionally the power board.


Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Sorry for bumping a super old thread but my Vizio is experiencing a somewhat related issue.


What sucks is that i had a 2-year warranty on my xvt47 and now in the 26th month, it decided to crap out. Hopefully someone can help me.


I was watching a show when suddenly the picture dropped out but the audio remained working. I don't believe it's the backlight inverter card since all the lights remain on in the back and the screen is still 'lit' but no picture. I tried holding the power button for a minute then booting it back on and it went thru the orange/white blinking process. When that was done, I powered it back on and the screen lit up but I didn't get the V logo and I can't see the input dropdown menu. Even when there was no video source I could always see the input menu on the screen but not now. I took the back off and see the different boards but don't know what cards do what functions. There are other boards available via Ebay (backlight inverter, t-con board, mainboard, power supply) but I don't want to buy the wrong one.


Any idea what board would go bad that would cause my picture not to show?


Thanks for any ideas.
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top