AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright this is my very first post, I'm a complete idiot noob so please be gentle.

I'm looking to start a theater set-up from scratch, and one of the biggest problems I have with my current set of speakers (very very old no-name brand) is that voice volumes on DVDs are so low they are hard to make out what's being said. I find myself cranking the volume to almost the highest levels, only to get blown out of the seat once the music kicks in on a film.

To remedy this, I'm thinking I should be getting the biggest, loudest, center channel I can possibly find (Klipsch..Polk...Bose...JBL?) and pairing them up with some quality tower speakers for the front L&Rs. My budget is probably going to be about $2500 just for the speakers.

I'll be setting up in a medium sized basement area. Any ideas, or am I completely on the wrong track? I'm looking for suggestions on models that will get me deep, clear voice tracks, a complete quality speaker set-up if you can point me in a good direction.

Thanks in advance for any help to this newb.

·
Registered
325 Posts
ok I'm going to be nice... NO NO NO on baddest center channel.. haha... its not the speakers, its the calibration. Now granted your speakers could suck, but when you step up to something that is even remotely decent you will improve them by calibration, essentially in a noob way of explaining it, your front sound stage will be as one, no matter how far away each speaker is or how large, you will calibrate them to a specific decibel so that it reaches your listening area all at one nominal level, likewise with the rear.

2500 can do alot, can you post your actual room dimensions? is there carpet in there? you might consider atleast the area your theater will be in as it improves sound quality for sure, atleast in my experience from hardwood floors to carpet now.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·