AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Of the 39 HD channels that the Voom advertising states....are they all dedicated HD channels ?

Let me put it another way...since I am new to HD...

Are these channels dedicated to showing HD content...like say Discovery HD...showing content that is HD or converted to HD by the network itself ? Or is there a way that Voom can just upgrade a channels content offering to a HD format and resolution?

I ask this because I never knew there was a HD AMC or HD A&E or HD Biography or HD History Channel or HD FX. All these channels upgraded their content to HD...and Voom is just offering what is available....or is Voom doing the upconverting? I do not know if that is even possible. Please shed some light on the topic.

Also what happens when a network goes HD...a network that shows older programming. Say like the new TNT-HD out in May 2004. They just upconvert shows to HD...but what happens when they show a rerun of say NYPD Blue which was originally aired in HD on ABC. Will we able to tell the difference between an old NYPD Blue or JAG that was not originally aired as HD and one that was originally aired as HD ?

·
Registered
768 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Archangel
Of the 39 HD channels that the Voom advertising states....are they all dedicated HD channels ?

I ask this because I never knew there was a HD AMC or HD A&E or HD Biography or HD History Channel or HD FX. All these channels upgraded their content to HD...and Voom is just offering what is available....or is Voom doing the upconverting? I do not know if that is even possible. Please shed some light on the topic.