AVS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a member here for a while but I'm new to doing anything with a projector. We moved into a new home last month and I now have a 11x12.5 foot room I turned into a mini theater. The display is currently a five year old Panasonic TC-P65V10 Plasma being fed by a Panasonic DMP-BD35 Blu-Ray player, PS3, and DirecTv Genie via HDMI through a Denon AVR3808ci. The display still looks awesome, especially when compared to the brand new Samsung 55" 6350 series we have downstairs. i have never been a big LCD/LED fan and hate the soap opera effect but it works well in that room with all of the light. Eyes are 10'5" away from the screen in the media room and I have total light control with room darkening curtains and four can lights on a remote Lutron dimmer. The screen wall and ceiling are already painted flat cracked pepper (almost black) and the side walls and back wall are painted a flat dark burgundy color. Because of my dislike for the picture on an LED display, I do not want any of the 70"-80" models currently available and I don't really like the price tags either.

I have measured it out and I can get up to a 106" screen crammed in between my tower speakers. The speakers cannot move due to where the door to the room is. I could probably swap to smaller L/C/R speakers and mount the left and right speakers on the wall and put the center speaker on a stand or get a lower profile equipment cabinet and be able to fit a 120" screen. I do not want to go down the road of in wall speakers in case I decide to do something different in the future because I don't want to be patching sheet rock. so, I'm good with a 100" up to a 106" fixed mount screen.