AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking to build a new computer. This is my first time building one. I want to use it mostly for gaming, but also other things. I have about 2000 to spend. i would like to be able to run all the newest games and be able to support a 4k monitor.

I would like advice on what i should buy and what I should look out for.

thanks

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
That's a very nice budget.

Are you wanting to be air cooled or do you want to use some water-cooling or all-in-one cooling units like the Corsair units?

If I were you, since this will be your first build, I would do the all in one unit for the CPU and keep the GPU on air. But get an Nvidia card as they run cooler.

What size of computer you want?

Today you are seeing more of the ITX motherboards for gaming systems...something I like but I also like the flexibility of the much bigger systems.

With your budget I would do an i5-3570k and a Nvidia GTX 780 or 780Ti and a large SSD such as the 1TB Samsung EVO.

There is something to say about simple pc setups because they often "Just work" better than your multi GPU and RAID setups.

Sky is the limit though about how much you can spend.

Do you want multiple monitors?

Do you want to also use it for server use?

Do you want to have multiple GPUs?

·
Registered
5,774 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewshus  /t/1523830/want-to-build-an-ultimate-gaming-rig#post_24517834

Im looking to build a new computer. This is my first time building one. I want to use it mostly for gaming, but also other things. I have about 2000 to spend. i would like to be able to run all the newest games and be able to support a 4k monitor.

I would like advice on what i should buy and what I should look out for.

thanks

Interesting article on 4K gaming:

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/few-depressing-words-4k-gaming

·
Registered
3,565 Posts