AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I must admit I am usually quite the researcher but after Black Friday i am lazy and just going to post my situation. I'm very capable with computer hardware but this is my first time delving into home theater PCs.

I just got this TV Samsung 32 inch LN32C350D1DXZA (for my room)

My desktop PC is the bomb.. 6 core Phenom II water-cooled to 4ghz, radeon 5850, 2tb of HDD, etc. However, it is too far from the TV to be of any use plus I want a dedicated box.

Th box I'm thinking of using has an AMD Athlon 2100+ over clocked to 2.2ghz completely stable with 200fsb. It's fairly fast considering the overclocks. It has 2x 120GB WD caviar se drives (no RAID or anything). Motherboard is Abit NF7-S, which has great onboard sound. The video card is a Radeon 9700 Pro. I don't believe there are any PCI-e slots on this motherboard.

What I want to do: I want to be able to play the DivX movies that are stored on my main desktop. I also want to be able to play Netflix and then hulu, in order of importance. In addition, it would be nice to be able to be able to record live TV, pause it, etc. I assume that means I need a TV Tuner card.

Oh, and i want to be able to use either my iPad or Droid X as a remote for this box.

So my questions: how do i connect the box to the TV when there is no HDMI out? It does have DVI and VGA. What OS do I use? Will i be able to easily access my movie library on my other computer? If I get an HD TV Tuner, will it be hard to do so without a PCI-e slot?

My parents have a Samsung BluRay player which allows them to have "apps" and stream Netflix and stuff. I like that set up, but obviously I need something a bit more powerful.