AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried looking around other forums as well as this one as to find out whether I'd be able to use a Samsung Slim DVD Home cinema HT-P1200 to play the DTS audio which the WD HDTV does not support but couldn't really find anything..
Supposedly, the device supports DTS and has got two optical cable entries. I have my WD plugged to my tv screen through HDMI and was thinking of just connecting the WD to the Samsung player using the optical cable. Will it work?


Thanks in advance for any feedback I might get.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
521 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivale /forum/post/17047994


I tried looking around other forums as well as this one as to find out whether I'd be able to use a Samsung Slim DVD Home cinema HT-P1200 to play the DTS audio which the WD HDTV does not support but couldn't really find anything..
Supposedly, the device supports DTS and has got two optical cable entries. I have my WD plugged to my tv screen through HDMI and was thinking of just connecting the WD to the Samsung player using the optical cable. Will it work?


Thanks in advance for any feedback I might get.

If the Samsung Slim DVD Home cinema HT-P1200 have a Optical-in, i think you will not have any problem to do that!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I finally got it to work a few hours ago. At first, I was a bit uneasy because I could get not sound from the samsung device but hell, it felt damn good when It finally started working! Thanks Afrsa.


However, I ran into another problem while I was looking for files that also had DTS in it. The sound comes out perfectly this time but the video cannot be played correctly. The image freezes or becomes distorted most of the time.


# [BluRay,1080p,x264,DTS] - 6.1 gb

# length: 102 min

# Video: 1920×1080, 23.976 fps, x264

# Audio: Japanese DTS 5.1, 1.5 mbit

# English softsubs


At first I assumed the resolution was too high but according to what the product specifications say, shouldn't I be able to play the file just fine?


Note:

- MPEG2/4, H.264, and WMV9 supports up to 1920x1080p 24fps, 1920x1080i 30fps, 1280x720p 60fps resolution

- An audio receiver is required for surround sound output. AAC/Dolby Digital decodes in 2 channel output only

- JPEG does not support CMYK or loss less.

- BMP supports uncompressed format only.

- TIF/TIFF supports single layer only.



That's written on the page that has all the specifications for the TV HD media player. ( I can't post any link because I haven't got enough posts yet)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,654 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivale /forum/post/17050684


I finally got it to work a few hours ago. At first, I was a bit uneasy because I could get not sound from the samsung device but hell, it felt damn good when It finally started working! Thanks Afrsa.


However, I ran into another problem while I was looking for files that also had DTS in it. The sound comes out perfectly this time but the video cannot be played correctly. The image freezes or becomes distorted most of the time.


# [BluRay,1080p,x264,DTS] - 6.1 gb

# length: 102 min

# Video: 1920×1080, 23.976 fps, x264

# Audio: Japanese DTS 5.1, 1.5 mbit

# English softsubs


At first I assumed the resolution was too high but according to what the product specifications say, shouldn't I be able to play the file just fine?


Note:

- MPEG2/4, H.264, and WMV9 supports up to 1920x1080p 24fps, 1920x1080i 30fps, 1280x720p 60fps resolution

- An audio receiver is required for surround sound output. AAC/Dolby Digital decodes in 2 channel output only

- JPEG does not support CMYK or loss less.

- BMP supports uncompressed format only.

- TIF/TIFF supports single layer only.



That's written on the page that has all the specifications for the TV HD media player. ( I can't post any link because I haven't got enough posts yet)

Theres more to it then just being 1080p, there can only be a certain number of reference frames. The files needs to conform h264 standard. Someone with more knowledge of this can explain better.


Download mediainfo and post the info here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Video

ID : 3

Format : AVC

Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec

Format profile : [email protected]

Format settings, CABAC : Yes

Format settings, ReFrames : 8 frames

Muxing mode : Container [email protected]

Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC

Duration : 1h 42mn

Bit rate : 6 835 Kbps

Nominal bit rate : 7 000 Kbps

Width : 1 920 pixels

Height : 1 080 pixels

Display aspect ratio : 16:9

Frame rate : 23.976 fps

Resolution : 24 bits

Colorimetry : 4:2:0

Scan type : Progressive

Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.137

Stream size : 4.87 GiB (80%)

Writing library : x264 core 60 r886M 1075536

Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=8 / deblock=1:-3:-3 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=6 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=0 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=2 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=0 / mbaff=0 / fgo=4 / bframes=8 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=7000 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=1.00 / qpmin=8 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=24000 / vbv_bufsize=20000 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.20 / aq=2:0.80

Language : Japanese





I assume this is enough, right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,654 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivale /forum/post/17050810


Format profile : [email protected]

Format settings, ReFrames : 8 frames

I think that is the problem there. It needs to be L4.1 with no mopre then 5 reference frames. Don't quote me on that but I think thats the limit.


Not enough internal memory.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
100 Posts
The limit for L4.1 compliance varies for different resolutions, at 1920 x 1080 the limit is 4 ref frames.


You can use this formula to caculate the max. number of ref frames:


8388608

__________________


(width x height)



So in this case 8388608/2073600 = 4,045 etc.


1920 x 800 would be 8388608/1536000= 5,46 so max 5 ref frames


Technical info:

Quote:
Also note that the ITU-T specification limits DPB and thus limits the ref for each level. If adhering to Level 4.1 specs, the maximum refs for full height 720p and 1080p video are 9 and 4, respectively. But if the video's height is not the full 720 or 1080 pixels, a higher ref can be used.
http://mewiki.project357.com/wiki/X264_Settings#ref
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
521 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zzzozzzo /forum/post/17051605


The limit for L4.1 compliance varies for different resolutions, at 1920 x 1080 the limit is 4 ref frames.


You can use this formula to caculate the max. number of ref frames:


8388608

__________________


(width x height)



So in this case 8388608/2073600 = 4,045 etc.


1920 x 800 would be 8388608/1536000= 5,46 so max 5 ref frames


Technical info:



http://mewiki.project357.com/wiki/X264_Settings#ref

Thats right... but if he is using external subtitles, probably he needs to subtract a reframe for smooth playback... in this case 3 reframes maybe apropriate!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
But doing so would mean loss of quality, right? Well, I suppose I can always grab a laptop and hook it up to my tv through HDMI. Thanks for the help guys!

I've just got one more question. With continuous firmware upgrades, will WD TV eventually be able to play files with this same number of ref frames?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
521 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tivale /forum/post/17052359


But doing so would mean loss of quality, right? Well, I suppose I can always grab a laptop and hook it up to my tv through HDMI. Thanks for the help guys!

I've just got one more question. With continuous firmware upgrades, will WD TV eventually be able to play files with this same number of ref frames?

Lowering the reframes doesn't affect the Pic quality.. just makes the files a little bigger!


No... WD is not going to develope the firmware to support more reframes... they already said that! The WD TV has litttle memory, so more reframes isn't possible!

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
521 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte /forum/post/17055404


You're saying it lowers the number of reframes without recompression????

I'm saying he has to reencode the movie with lower reframes...


The processe takes hours.. a lot... but I think the Pic quality is not altered... just because your are not compressing the file but getting it bigger lowering the reframes... atention.. i could be wrong, but I think the quality remains the same.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top