AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a WDTV last night and it works great, but I would prefer to stream video instead of carting my HD drive to my TV when I want to watch backed up movies.

Can someone tell me how the PS3 handles video compared to the WDTV?

Thanks!

C

·
Registered
696 Posts
I prefer to stream from NAS myself and I have PS3 and it is fairly limited on the file types it will play/stream. It plays VOB files but there is a significant pause when switching. I did not try combining all the VOB files into 1 though as I am just getting into this part of the hobby myself, so take it for what it is worth. I have been unsuccessful in getting the PS3 to stream .mp4/.m4v files but I'm sure it is because I am a newb.

I have been experimenting with rippers, converters, memory sticks, NAS and trying to figure out the best way to go.

I purchased the WD HD this weekend and it plays the VOB files seemlessly and also plays ISO files where the PS3 will not. This would be perfect if it streamed from a NAS/HMS.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by LVS /forum/post/15464876

I prefer to stream from NAS myself and I have PS3 and it is fairly limited on the file types it will play/stream. It plays VOB files but there is a significant pause when switching. I did not try combining all the VOB files into 1 though as I am just getting into this part of the hobby myself, so take it for what it is worth. I have been unsuccessful in getting the PS3 to stream .mp4/.m4v files but I'm sure it is because I am a newb.

I have been experimenting with rippers, converters, memory sticks, NAS and trying to figure out the best way to go.

I purchased the WD HD this weekend and it plays the VOB files seemlessly and also plays ISO files where the PS3 will not. This would be perfect if it streamed from a NAS/HMS.

Yes I agree if the WDTV streamed it would be awesome.