AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to the forum, but think I can find this useful in the future as I convert over to HDTV.

For now my problem is this. I have old but good equipment. Old Kenwood Stereo amp, fairly new Zenith 27" analog TV, new, inexpensive, Magnnavox MDV200f DVD player my duaghter gave us for Christmas.

I've fed the DVD video into S video to the TV, and feed the audio into either an input on the stereo amp, or into an input on the TV.

The video is beautiful when playing a DVD.

The audio soundtrack (sound effects, music, etc) sounds pretty good for an old system.

But the audible speech is so weak we can hardly hear it.

To hear any voice, you have to turn the audio up so loud that it is uncomfortable for casual listening.

I have two sets of speakers on the stereo amp, front and rear. I have speakers in the TV which I can turn on or off.

My best combination is using TV speakers on with rear speakers from stereo.

If I select one of the narration tracks on the DVD, it sounds great. It is just when the movie sound track is running that we cannot hear speech. I have tried all possible audio combinations on the DVD player. I have tried fullscreen and widescreen videos.

I have seen other complaints about this on the web, but no solutions yet.

What am I missing?

Thanks for any suggestions!

·
Registered
17,407 Posts
Dialog in dolby 5.1 comes from the center channel speaker. If you don't have a surround system setup and have the audio setup wrong, you'll loose most of the dialog. So what you have to do is to setup the player/dvd such that the audio is redirected into the two channels you do have.