AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Still trying very hard to understand this stuff call "speakers". As the title says, What are the merits/demerits of a big driver vs multible small drivers? I am going to pull the trigger on a set of Seaton Catalysts/sparks/submersive, but I keep reading reviews on speaker with multible smaller drivers having amazing bass comparible or even better than bigger drivers. I have not purchased a set of speakers for music or HT (this is my first time) so I have absolutely no reference point to work from and I have researched as much as I can on SPL and db levels ,so to all you audio experts, can someone explain to me the way things are.

·
Premium Member
2,586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Anyone????

·
Registered
4,587 Posts
I think in this case multiple is many multiples. You have to think not only about total surface area but also the amount of excursion available, and in general smaller "normal" woofers are not built to move nearly as far as a sub driver is. Plus, the more drivers you have in your system, potentially the farther away you have to get for the speaker to integrate audibly. SO unless you want to come up with something having, say, 10 6 inch drivers per side and sit pretty far away, the more conventional approach is more likely to give good results.

But I do remember a girlfriend dragging me to a Grateful Dead concert in the '80s, and it seemes like their speakers were a giant wall of identical 6 inch drivers. Nothing bigger in sight. Sound was good, but there were many many drivers visible, and may have been subs under the stage or in some other place where I could not see them.

·
Registered
665 Posts
Dave,