AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I am a current subscriber to Dish Network and I have the model 6000 receiver with the 8VSB tuner. I already enjoy OTA HDTV. My problem is that I do not have the second dish to get the Dish Network HDTV.

My question is, What dish do I need and where can I buy one as a stand-alone. I would suspect that I simply need to install it to start getting my Dish HDTV since I already have an account with them and I have an HBO subsciption as well.

Thanks.

------------------

Mark A. Torre

NEC XG-8"CRT PJ, HTPC, HDTV and loving it! The Torre Home Theater

·
Registered
830 Posts
To give you the best possible advice, we need to know:

1. How many receivers do have

2. Is your existing Dish a Dish500, and if so, does it have 2 seperate LNBs or a "Twin" LNB.

You will need a Dish 300 and a multiswitch (or several multiswitches), but I can't give specifics without knowing the details of your setup.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Dagman,

This isn't necessarily true. He can only use SW21 switches if his original dish is a Dish 300, or his original dish is a Dish 500 with a twin LNB. If his original dish is a Dish 500 with two regular LNBs and a SW21, he would need to replace them with a twin, or buy a fancier switch like the SW64.

·
Registered
830 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Sarahlea:
I have the same question as Torre. What is the difference between a twin LNB and two separate LNB's?
On a system with only a Dish 500, the twin is functionally equivilent to two dual lnbs and two SW21s. However, the twin is different in that it can be cascaded with SW21s and another dish to look at a third location.

·
Registered
730 Posts
I stand corrected. I'm relatively new to this game and I'm not very familiar with the older equipment. Thanks for correcting my error.

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·