AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
906 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, first off this is one of those questions many of you that have been around CRT projectors for a while will say can't be answers , it's a stupid question or something like that. So please just pass it on if you think so. I'm new and I'm trying to educate myself. One is going to ask stupid questions till one gets educated.

As I said, I'm new to CRT front projection and I want to get the most for my money and I know some of you out there have ideas about what is the best choice and the ones to stay away from. So if you could give me an idea, your idea of what would be the best (if possible) choice from the projectors list below. If I should be looking at another Mfg., by all means let me know.

I have narrowed it down to one of these projectors. I'm looking at used under 5k hours on the tubes or reconditioned units $3000 or under. I have found units within my budget and conditions by these Mfg. Assuming they are equal in hours and condition what would be the best choice? Should I strike any from my list because they have faults? As far as picture quality I'm looking for something that will display DVD's and HDTV on a screen 7' to 8' wide as close as I can get for my money to theater quality. Who (Mfg.) had the best picture for the buck?

Sony VPH-1272 or 1272Q ( I see lots of sony's, any to look for, stay away from)

Runco IDP-900a or 980

Barco 800 or 801

Marquee 8501 or 8500

Thanks ....I'm getting close.

·
Registered
9,398 Posts
I would stay away from the old Sony's, 1252-1272. If you're looking for a Sony, get a G70 and if you want to spend a little less, look at a Marquee 8500.

If size is an issue, check out the Sony D-50 or the Electrohome ECP-4500's.

·
Registered
175 Posts