AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have been messing with my newly purchased MiniDSP and trying to setup an LT for my sealed SI 18"s. This is a close mic measurement of each sub, you can ignore the bottom two lines. I am trying to establish what the actual qtc is of my subs (in their boxes) so that I can experiment with the LT using the Mini. The issue I am having is the question of why the entire response rolls off above ~43hz? Why the "mountain" appearance? Is this the actual response of the sub/box or could there be something else at work? It almost looks like there is a low pass crossover applied above 50hz, which there is not. The system is Onkyo TX-NR808 -> MiniDSP 2x4 balanced -> Behringer NU4-6000 -> SI 18" in ~4.2 cu ft sealed boxes. These particular measurements were taken a while ago before the Mini was in the path. The results are the same with the Mini in place.

I am still learning much about REW and general measurement principles. These measurements were taken with Audyssey turned off, dynamic EQ turned off, my mains disconnected, and one sub measured at a time while the other is off.

·
Registered
3,962 Posts
Here is the measurement of that driver in a 4.2 cubic foot enclosure from data-basss.com. It looks like your crossover is engaged.

·
Registered
7,989 Posts
It looks like the XO is still set to 60hz or so.

If that's the case, then your results look about what I'd expect provided those are 5db or less increments.

·
Registered
3,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'll get some more snapshots with nothing chopped out. The AVR crossover for bass management is set at 120hz. The amp has no crossover set. This response was taken from when I was using an EP2500 with no crossover, the NU4-6000 measures the same way.