AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A buddy of mine just bought a Marquee 8500. It should be there tomorrow.... he wants to set up a home theatre system. He wants to be able to play dvds, vhs tapes, and get on the internet. So I know he needs a HTPC. I'm working on the specs (i've never built one before) and would appreciate input... I'm looking at a shuttle setup with a Nforce 2 board... will the integrated video/audio suffice, or do i need an all-in-wonder video card (or other type) and sound card. Also, what other equipment does he need.

Thanks for any info... i'm a pc builder by trade, and have no experience with AV stuff.....

RobertP

·
Registered
358 Posts
HTPC are not complicated machines at all. All you really need is something right around 700 mhz with an ATI Radeon based card. You could get the Radeon 9000 all-in-wonder and not waste a pci slot on a tv tuner card. A soundcard that does spdif passthrough. Any if you really want to see the 8500 shine dunk 300 on a OTA HDTV pci card like the myhd card. It will make you jaw drop. Specially if you get everything set up by this weekend in time to catch the NBA games in Hi Def

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok... thanks for the info... i'll ask in the htpc forum for pc config.... I've got a HiDTV Pro in my home pc and yes, a HD card in his htpc would be nice....

Is there any other hardware that he'll need besides the HTPC? I guess one concern is the types of connections on the marquee 8500.... how do we hook it up to the htpc and also get a vhs player or home stereo system into the mix?

Thanks again for the info.

RobertP

·
Registered
4,815 Posts