AVS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I finally was able to order a sub and I was lucky enough to get the Elemental Designs A2-300. I'm a little worried because I just dropped a load of cash on it and have no idea how to setup that hideous thing. What kind of cable or accessories do I need to order to hook it up to my Onkyo Tx-SR505? I'm a big old noob on this HT stuff and have been slowly building my setup.

Is this going to work well with the Polk R150's and CSR I currently have and the Onkyo 505?

Also, how do I set it up? Just go through the Onkyo auto setup thing or do I have to do funky stuff with crossovers and crap like that? Gah there's so much to learn about all this junk I feel like I'm wading through a river.

And placement... do I just stick it behind the speakers (they're a little forward and to the left and right of the TV)? I've never had a sub so I don't even know what to expect.

·
Registered
354 Posts
I don't own an eD sub but below are some of basics.

You will need an RCA cable to connect receiver to sub. Go to monoprice.com and order online.

Not sure what your Onkyo uses for speaker calibration if any but eD should provide some guidance and what level to set sub gain to but for my HSU it was 10:00 on the gain knob. If your receiver has Audessy or some sort of other speaker calibration, follow the instructions.

After it has completed it will most likely have your main speakers set to large. CHange this setting to small and if not already set to 80hz at the crossover set it to 80hz.

That should get you started.

Oh yeah, eD may have you set the sub crossover to out which means your Onkyo will control the crossover going to the sub which in this case is 80hz.

As far a placement you can start with a front corner and then try different placemants that give best bass and sound quality.

Good luck !

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3