Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm new to writing to these boards but I've been reading for a long time now and just presently have a question that you guys haven't answered for me already in all your glorious detail.

My question is, if you were to buy an HDTV-ready direct view wide screen tv right now what would you buy?

I'm interested in the Panasonic Tau 34 inch model and I've seen a lot of others that are out there but non compare to this one as of yet. Am I missing something out there? I plan on getting the Iscan pro so the line doubling quality isn't as much a problem. I don't like the fact that the panasonic doesn't have a VGA connector or firewire but I can always live without if i can still get a great picture. One of my main thoughts is should I wait for that Sony 34 inch that I've heard is coming out soon? Sony can make one hell of a picture but I don't know if its really worth the wait. Also I've heard its actually out there now, is this true? Thanks alot for everyones help.

Matt

·
Registered
98 Posts
inocen1,

I know this isn't what you want to hear, and I am not trying to be negative, but direct view sets are really not very well suited to HD. Because the screen is so small, you have to sit very close (a few feet away) to be able to see the detail in current HD material. But since most direct view sets have a fairly coarse dot pitch, or stripe pitch, even if you sit that close you still can't see the detail that is inherent in an HD image because that detail is smaller than the dot/stripe pitch of the CRT.