Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am getting ready to upgrade my computer and was wondering what would be the best motherboard, or hardware for that matter, to use. I have plenty of experience in building computers but am not sure what it takes to build an HTPC.

Right now I am looking at these three AMD compatible Mobo's,

Asus A7N8X,

Chaintech Zenith Series CT-7NJS,

or the Leadtek WinFast K7NCR18D.

The proc. will probably be an AMD Athlon XP 2400+,

with either 512 or 1gig PC3200 DDR Memory.

I am not limiting myself to these; they are just what I have found the latest info on so far.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

James

·
Registered
227 Posts
I can't tell you which is the best, but I can tell you that any motherboard which uses the CMedia sound chip will eventually require a separate sound card for HTPC functions. That rules out the Chaintech. The ASUS should be OK, but I couldn't find any info about the chip used on the Leadtek.

More info on the CMedia's problems in my web page, below, and especially in the follow-up, "Troubleshooting" page:

http://www.jimrothe.com/htpc_troubleshooting.html

·
Registered
4,720 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by jvrieger
Hello,

I am getting ready to upgrade my computer and was wondering what would be the best motherboard, or hardware for that matter, to use. I have plenty of experience in building computers but am not sure what it takes to build an HTPC.
James,

Check the HTPC FAQ at the top of this forum.

However, the motherboard is not really a big factor with regards to HTPC.

The biggest factor is the video card - which will probably require an AGP slot on the motherboard.

Since the video card does most of the processing, CPU isn't that important unless you do post-processing with "ffdshow"

or the like. If you contemplate post-processing, and require a powerful CPU, get a compatible motherboard.