AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using Theatertek quite happily since its inception several years ago. I even added the .mkv functionality to it when I started converting my blu-rays to mkv files a few years back. I am, however finding it quite limited (as one would expect) in its playback abilities of mkv files.

What has kept me using it is its interface and easy usability. I simply click the Theatertek icon and it opens full screen on my second monitor. If I hit the media button, a window opens with the drop down tree for me to scroll through. It is simple in its execution and easy for the wife and kids as well. I have been using VLC recently and, while actually being able to add subtitles is both excellent and necessary for some movies, I find its usability much harder than the simple elegance of Theatertek. If I click on the VLC icon, I can get it to open on monitor two, but the way in which you go about adding content to play is slightly confusing to me, let alone the wife.

I am hoping someone can recommend something that will act like Theatertek does in its execution. I am open to media programs as well, but those are slight overkill for the things I do with the computer. I really just need an easy way to open the file I want to play, while having some kind of elegant look factor to the process.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,965 Posts