AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I guess I'm jumping into the HTPC fray. I'm a noob when it comes to building computers but I have help that I can rely on. I've been reading up for months but there are big gaps in my knowledge (the software part of this project scares me a bit).

Here's my build (ordered and should be arriving tomorrow):

Case: Silverstone GD 05B

MB: GIGABYTE GA-H55M-S2H LGA 1156

CPU: Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EADS 2TB

ODD: LG Black 10X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM

No tuner card yet and I was planning on using the integrated graphics in the CPU so no GPU.

The case comes with three 120mm fans.

What power supply should I get? I just want it to run everything quietly. Thanks in advance.

Alex

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by ogormask /forum/post/18314843

What price range? There are hundreds that would work.

Lets say under $100.

I'm trying to sneak this thing under the radar (just bought new Samsung 8500 and a wireless bluray player which I might return if I get this HTPC working right).

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by cygnusloop /forum/post/18314859

I really like the Corsair PSUs

url deleted by MAK1967 (apparently I need 3 posts before I can post a link).

450w may be a bit more than you need, but I prefer to err on the side of to much rather than too little.

I have found this PSU to be pretty quiet in my Antec Remote mATX case.

I guess I'm worried about size and getting everything to fit, will that power supply work with the case and the parts I'm getting?

·
Registered
74 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAK1967 /forum/post/18314969

I guess I'm worried about size and getting everything to fit, will that power supply work with the case and the parts I'm getting?