AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A guy I work with is going to try and modify my DVD player for SDI out, but what scalers offer SDI input and what do they cost? Is Vigatec the only one?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Sorry, but I'm new to the home side fo the industry. Is the Dune and the Vigatec the same thing?

·
Premium Member
8,097 Posts
Vigatec is the company name.

They used to sell their 1280 unit, which was the "low end" unit (it wasn't that low-end, so that's why I have this in double quotes). The Dune is their higher end unit.

I'm not really sure how they have things positioned now. I think they are still selling the GVC-1280 unit, but the Dune is their primary product now.

Why not just go to their site and see? http://www.vigatec.de

·
Registered
12,276 Posts
All Vigatec scalers can be modified with a single or triple SDI unit (at least the newest versions). The only other scalers that allow SDI are TAW's Rock+ and Key Digital's new Leeza. If you haven't seen SDI then I encourage you to do so. It is a huge difference over standard analog inputs!

Thanks!

·
Registered
251 Posts
Just a reminder, the Teranex also has SDI in. In fact, it only processes in the SDI / HD-SDI domain... no analog inputs or outputs at all.

Its cost may be prohibitive to most, but that doesn't mean it's not available to purchase.

- David Eddy

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
I discovered that the Snell & Wilcox have an SDI output card for the Proceed (PMDT), and a matching SDI input card for their Interpolator. The SDI signal between the cards is heavily encrypted to meet the Hollywood standards of course.

Oz

·
Premium Member
8,097 Posts
Hey,

If you guys want to talk about scalers in general (not just HT stuff), why not consider KeyDigital 2000HD.

It's a $12,000 - $15,000 (depending on where you buy it) scaler that has SDI and component inputs.