Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

First off, I am new to this forum and just wanted to say hi to everyone. This looks like a great place with a lot of very knowledgable people.

Up until very recently I had considered buying a RPTV. After learning about burn-in problems, I don't see any value in owning one. I would spend all my time worrying about burn-in rather than enjoying the TV.

This brings me to FPTV. I really like the advantage of a large screen, as well as piece of mind not having to worry about static images. However, I am very new to the HT enthusiast forums, and all of the info is very overwhelming. I was wondering if some people could give me recomendations on what to buy.

Here is my situation. I will use the projector for satellite TV, cable TV, DVD, and as a computer screen as well. I would like PIP so that I can watch TV while on the computer.

I was thinking about the Dell 4100MP. Is this a decent projector to start with? It seems to be very reasonably priced. BTW, my budget is around $1500 US, but if there is a good enough deal kickin around I would entertain the idea.

Also, would it be better for me to wait a year or so to let the technology improve and come down in price? I ask because my next purchase will either be a projector, or raw drivers to build a good set of tower speakers.

Any info would be greatly appreciated :)

·
Registered
428 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by mxkool167
Hi Everyone,

First off, I am new to this forum and just wanted to say hi to everyone. This looks like a great place with a lot of very knowledgable people.
Welcome, MX.

Quote:
Up until very recently I had considered buying a RPTV. After learning about burn-in problems, I don't see any value in owning one. I would spend all my time worrying about burn-in rather than enjoying the TV.
I take it you're a gamer? That's the biggest culprit for burn-in.

Quote: