Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thank goodness I found this place. :)

Hello all,

I am new to Home Theater so please pardon the newb questions. I have searched the www and found many definitions for the terms I have questions about; however I am unable to deliniate, from these definitions, the answers to the questions I have.

I have just recenty purchased a Yamaha HTR-5650 AV Receiver. Connected to that I have a DVD player and a Satellite HD Receiver connected via Optical cables and a FL, FR, C, RL, RR, and Subwoofer speakers.

Here is where I get confused:

The receiver has many different decoder options. They are Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital EX, Dolby Pro Logic, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS, DTS ES, DTS Neo:6, and it also has something called Cinema DSP which I believe recreates sound environments such as Movie Theaters. I am confused on which decoder to select when watching movies. I believe, from reading the manual, that if I choose one of the pre-programmed Cinema DSP programs that the receiver will automatically choose the proper decoder based on the input signal. Does that sound right ? What about when I do not want to use one of the Cinema DSP programs? For instance, I have a DVD and on the back of the case it has the Dolby Digital Logo and it says 5.1 Dolby Surround. Assumming I do not use one of the DSP programs which decoder do I choose to most accurately reproduce the 5.1 channels ? I would assume DTS is out of the question for this particular DVD since it does not mention DTS on the back of the case. For the life of me I cannot figure this out.

Any and all information is greatly appreciated,

Duke

·
Banned
20,735 Posts
If you have a DVD with 5.1 DTS or DD, then you want to use that. IF there is an "auto" function, it should handle this properly.