AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm basically new to the ht thing. I'm looking for a new system and want to know which brands of speakers to look at? I've found some sony speakers that I like and a nice sub also by sony. is sony good? thanks

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
there are a few subs I'm looking at 150W sony for $200, 250W sony for $300, 150W yamaha for $200, 250W yamaha for $300. the sony speakers that I'm looking at are 150W for $150 each and are around 3-4 ft high but I'm wondering which subs to pick (sony or yamaha.. I'll pick which one my self depending on how much money I have) and are the sony speakers good in general? thanks

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
Neither Sony nor Yamaha are famous for their speakers.

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
I didn't say that, did I?

If they sound good to you, then that's all that matters.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
so if I get a 6.1 600W sony receiver and 2 front 150W sony speakers, 120W center speaker sony, 2 rear 100W speakers sonyand a 250W sony sub I'll be okey? that's what its looking like... sound good? any changes?

·
Registered
3,025 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by tikrapt
there are a few subs I'm looking at 150W sony for $200, 250W sony for $300, 150W yamaha for $200, 250W yamaha for $300. the sony speakers that I'm looking at are 150W for $150 each and are around 3-4 ft high but I'm wondering which subs to pick (sony or yamaha.. I'll pick which one my self depending on how much money I have) and are the sony speakers good in general? thanks

for ~200 you can get small time internet subs which will probably perform better, or a used $500 sub which will be in a different league.