AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to setup a Mp3 server on my network, I would like to set it up on my Linux Box preferrably.. Does anyone know of some good mp3 server software for linux or even windows?

Thanks!

·
Registered
92 Posts
Streaming (think Radio Stations)

OR

File Hosting (to let people pick what they want on the fly)

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally posted by Casper42
Streaming (think Radio Stations)

OR

File Hosting (to let people pick what they want on the fly)

Either or would be fine.. Streaming is nice so is File Hosting... Looking for something that is flexible and stable..

·
Registered
50 Posts
 Roomjuice would be my first pick. It is written in PHP and is very flexible and stable.

I've been using it for about 3 months now. I have modified the way that it looks, the way that it acts and a few other things in order for it to fit in my livingroom.

All that you really have to do is point the configuration file to the mp3 directory on your sever (mine is /var/ftp/mp3) and run the program.

I have also experimented with Otto , but it isn't nearly as flexible, but out of the box it does have a cleaner interface to it.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Turnstyle has a very cool product called Andromeda that basically is a small asp or php file that reads your directory structure and creates a HTML view complete with simple to use buttons to play the whole album, queue up a song, etc. www.turnstyle.com

In addition to that, I'm using OvernightTech's Music Console (thread is alive and well in the HTPC forum here on AVSForum). www.overnighttech.com