AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need an HDTV for gaming. I read that they need to have a specific response time on them to avoid getting input lag when playing video games, however, I am not an expert in this matter. Could you recommend a good 1080p screen for under $500 between 40"-42" that would give me no problems when playing games and that could provide a great picture quality for gaming and general TV viewing? I went to Walmart but the TV's they sell are kind of bad IMO, they usually have a bad picture quality, many of them have 60hz, and the prices are expensive. I am looking for at least a 120hz panel. Thank you :)

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Can't go wrong with a Sony tv for gaming. They seem to have a focus on low input lag. BB has the Sony KDL40W600B.

·
Registered
8,926 Posts
But that one is only 60hz, I would like a set with at least 120hz. Thank you for your help :)
Why do you think you need 120 Hz? What console do you use for gaming? Do you use a computer hooked up to the TV for gaming?

Really there is so much misinformation out there about what makes a good HDTV for gaming. Here are a few things to help clear that up.

1. If your console only outputs 60 FPS then the FPS of the TV is almost irrelevant. Right now you only need a TV with a fast refresh rate for HTPC gaming. And even then 120 FPS is about as high as you will need to go.

2. Input lag time is the single most important aspect for gaming. That is where the TV takes time to display the image after you do an action with the controller. If the delay is less than 50 ms then you probably won’t notice it. There aren’t many LED HDTVs that have less than 50 ms input lag times straight out of the box without turning on any special gaming functions.