AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a relative newbie when it comes to HD, I bought my 34inch 16X9 Toshiba tube last December, but I finaly got (when it launched here) Comcast's HD service in May of this year, so far in my location we have ABC,NBC,Showtime,HBO, and PBS. So i havn't been exposed to any HDNET content, the only sports program i have seen was one of the horse races on NBC this year, which I thought was awesome(pic quality) to say the least. I know the difference between film and video, and have seen quite a bit of HD movies on Showtime and HBO, but that horse Race was still the most impressive piece of HD I've seen yet, I also have watched the PBS Demo reel quite a bit, i think it looks nice, some nice pic quality in it, but so far if I were to demo HDTV to anyone of my friends I would have loved to have shown them the horse race on NBC. As of now without CBS or HDNET, I can't demo any sports to them so I have to show the PBS demo reel, my question to you guys is, what is the best HD expierence you've had yet, and give a little detail, share your story's with me. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
9,769 Posts
PBS, Japans Secret Garden

·
Registered
58 Posts
Band of Brothers was amazing.

·
Registered
4,735 Posts
FuncoJoe,

That horse racing was some of the best. I taped it off HDNet and I use one scene with all the horses running toward the camera as part of demo stuff for friends. It looks pretty awesome on a 116" wide screen, even though the cameramen were having some problems keeping the focus on the horses. Another one I use is the "Wild Hawaii" show from HDNet, which has the best underwater scenes I've seen. The "Beauty of Japan" demo tape for the JVC 30k has some incredible images and I believe it is the highest bitrate we get. I've ordered "Ice Age" on D-Theater and I expect that to be pretty impressive.