AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased the Denon 2309 and it should be arriving within the next week. I just want to know what's the best, inexpensive, speaker wire to get to compliment my new receiver. I'm a complete newb to this stuff so I don't really know what to look for in speaker wire. Let me know if you have any questions.

·
Registered
18,923 Posts
I would like to say one thing. When it comes to running surround speakers, I simply don't care to use high gauge wire. It's more expensive, and bulkier to work with. Given the sort of content usually present at the surrounds, I also don't think it's worth spending much money on the cables.

That's just one man's opinion. Other people might have a different opinion.

·
Registered
2,268 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman /forum/post/15550529

I would like to say one thing. When it comes to running surround speakers, I simply don't care to use high gauge wire. It's more expensive, and bulkier to work with. Given the sort of content usually present at the surrounds, I also don't think it's worth spending much money on the cables.

That's just one man's opinion. Other people might have a different opinion.

Did you mean low gauge?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So as far as gauge....is it the higher the number, the better the wire? Or the other way around? I saw the chart and the distances and it looks like 16 gauge and lower will definitely work for me. My rear speakers are about 20 feet from the receiver while my front ones are only about 6 feet. I just don't know what to do. Audio/Visual is not my strong point. I just want to make sure that I'm getting the best wire for my setup. I want my new receiver to make my speakers sound like never before.

·
Registered
156 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNeedF0RaName /forum/post/15551759