Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Again Friends!

Sorry but I'm still new at this. But where can I find a diagram or wiring schematic to follow for installing an 18x24 dish with an Ota antenna?

Thanks for all the help.

------------------

PeterDz

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dagman,

I do understand what you are saying but the manual that came with the dish doesnot say what to use or what is needed for installation of an ota antenna nor any hardware to use. The only thing it has is basic pointing of dish and how to install the dish. I have owned the regular sat 18" as well and even that did not come with instructions.

I was just asking for any help on what is best to use when combining the sat coax and the ota coax to one coax. Would it be best to use a dc pass diplexer? Or are there any better way of joining both without loosing any satellite signal due to having long coax down feed? I just think this is very new that is why I can't find a regular diagram for this. Because when I installed the 18" sat with a Vhf and Uhf omnidirectional antenna, I was able to use a powered multi switch. But with the multi switch that comes with the Direct-plus sat dish, no uhf or vhf inputs, and I DO NOT KNOW IF A SPLITTER IS A GOOD IDEA TO HOOK UP THE OTA ANT, AND CONNECT WITH DIPLEXERS.

------------------

PeterDz

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hello Ed,

Because I only have one coax cable running in the wall from attic to the downstairs room. I have the Sony SATHD100.

------------------

PeterDz

·
Registered
2,463 Posts
Its called a diplexer. You do not want to go that route. Do yourself a huge favor and run a separate line.

Dave

------------------

Watch HDTV!!! Nothing else comes close!

·
Registered
66 Posts
Peter,

I agree with Dave, if possible, run another coax. However, if you cannot, check out these diagrams.