AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to buy a 65" HDTV in the next month.

I'm between the Mitsubishi WS-65807 and the Toshiba 65H80. The Mitsi is pricing about $400 cheaper...so I'm leaning towards that one. I already own a 32" Toshiba and love it, so I'm looking at the 65H80 as well. I'm guessing the price difference is from the difference in lines of resolution? The Toshibas go up to 1600, while the Mitsi's only do 1200. I'm a newbie at this stuff, but I know that will make a difference in watching HDTV broadcasts, but will those extra lines of resolution make a difference when watching a DVD or just regular cable? Can anyone tell me other difference that would make the extra $400 worth it to get for the Toshiba?

Thanks,

Jon

·
Registered
3,220 Posts
I have the Toshiba TW65X81 which is the predecessor to the 65H80. I was looking at the Mits and Tosh as you are and chose the Toshiba just because it claimed 1600 lines versus Mits 1200. I have not been disapointed. The Toshiba has an incredible picture. You have to get 4' from the screen to see pixles on good HD sources.

Just my opinion.

Rick

·
Registered
78 Posts
Pay a little bit more and get the Tosh.

You will not be disappointed like Rick_R indicated.

I got the 56H80... House too small to put in the 65".

The 65H80 has the equivalent of the 65857 in lense

quality.... So if you get the 65807, you will have a

lower end of the lense setup [it is not bad, but not

exactly apple to apple comparison though].

But either way, you will have a winner.

·
Registered
33,592 Posts
jdiehl,