AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this place is a wealth of information but I hate asking questions that may or maynot have obvious answers. Does anyone have any good home theater construction books that they can recommend?

Thanks

Josh

· Registered
325 Posts
Good question, I did a search and found referances that the reviewers claimed to be good but am reluctant to buy without getting a chance to thumb through.

The biggest problem I find is that the books tend to talk about the latest is Home Theatre equipment, which we all know is good for about 4 months.

Being an engineer I am looking for an engineering style referance book but have yet to find one. I looked at a book store today and thought I found a good book but there was only ten pages of infomation I already knew.

Maybe when I get done building my HT I'll write my own book. Having a consulting background, I of course would want to be paid for the information I hand out.

I know this is absolutely no help to you but if I find a good referance I'll let you know. Please do the same.

Carl

· Registered
631 Posts
I don't think that there is a book that fits what we are doing. There are a lot of books quoted in here but when the grab a bit from this book and a bit from that book in the same paragraph that tells me that THE book doesn’t exist. I have a few and they don't even look good on a coffee table. Write your own. Do searches, then when you find the info your looking for cut and past. Keep folders, e.g. sound proofing, acustic tratments, ect, ect. A lot of the books contradict each other.

So how can you be sure your getting the right info? It is kind of like a doc, he is just practicing. Trial and error is the best learning, just do a search for "what would you do different" and you will see what I mean. I know this dosn't answer you Q but it is my opinion.

· Registered
513 Posts