AVS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to DVD recording and just received my Philips DVDR3575H/37. Which DVD would be best to use in this recorder...DVD+R or DVD-R? I'll mainly be using it to transfer video from my Panasonic Mini-DV camcorder and to record TV programs.

Mark

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks wajo.

Costco has 16x TDK DVD+R or DVD-R with a "buy one, get one" coupon that is good through tomorrow.

Mark

·
Registered
11,578 Posts
Yep, picked me up a couple(100 pack spindles) yesterday! Great deal should last me for years! I personally got the -R's.

·
Registered
14,210 Posts
Since TDK doesn't make their own consumer DVDs anymore, and Imation is handling TDK now, no telling what MID they'll have... they might just last 10 days! Imation also bought Memorex, so there's a wicked trifecta right there!?

Did you check the MID on those TDKs you picked up?

·
Registered
11,578 Posts
Actually I haven't even opened them yet. I still must have more that 100 Maxell's & Verbatims opened. I just couldnt pass up the price, $32/200.

I thought TDK was good? I know they made good audio/video tapes. Since there not opened I suppose I could return them.

·
Registered
14,210 Posts
Unfortunately, you'll never know who made those TDKs w/o opening a pkg or someone else testing the same discs from same place with the 3575's MID utility.

Today, TDK is a crapshoot! Verbatim seems to be consistently good, even when they let the dreaded CMC make them, since Verbatim *sometimes/always* makes them useVerbatim tools and media.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Well, I passed up the TDK's from Costco. The DVD's that I make will need to last a long time since they are of my daughter's basketball games through the years. Guess I should keep the Mini DV tapes of each game too just in case.