AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok So i am very new to this. I've been doing some research and have the room, furniture, surround sound, and screen picked out. My ? is about inputs. I have time warner and want to use my cable box to hook up to a projector to mainly watch sports. I have a ps3 and roku too for gaming and netflix. But for the cable box, time warner rep said none of their boxes have vga or dvi out, only rca,s-video, component, and hdmi. If i get a HD projector that doesn't have HDMI out am i missing out if i hook the projector up to either s-video or RCA? Again i haven't picked a projector yet but the price difference between HDMI projectors and RCA s-video are quite different.

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
You are DEFINITELY missing out if you use Video or S-Video. Those are the WORST possible choices in terms of image quality. There is NO HD using Video or S-Video. It would be like the difference between a DVD and a videotape.

If you don't choose a projector that has HDMI, then the next best quality will be one that can take Component, usually this is through an adapter connected to the projector's VGA connector.

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
You said the cable box has Component out, you can use that with an adapter to the VGA input on the projector.

VGA is used for a computer input (usually for business presentation applications) or a Component input. Most people do not have HTPCs and I have never heard of a cable box having VGA out.

·
Banned
2,914 Posts
Why not buy an HDMI switch and get one of these...

http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlimit...3769448&sr=8-2

You are making this 1000 times harder than this is.

You have to go WAY OLD to even find DVI anymore. If you find a VGA only (that doesn't even have DVI) projector, it won't work for what you are trying to do anyway.

So, buy a projector with HDMI and/or DVI and forget all about VGA. For you...and your intended purpose, VGA does NOT exist.