AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I waited around too long trying to decide on the D4 and now they're gone. Was gonna get 2 of them and the 3000dsp. Now looking to get 1 D2 and either the 1000dsp or 3000dsp. Would I notice a difference in the output with the 1000 bridged 4ohm vs 3000 stereo 4 ohm? If I only plan on 1 sub should I stick with the 1000 as it's $80 cheaper? I think there are others in my shoes who would appreciate thoughts as well.


On a side note, how much am I missing out by getting the D2 vs the D4 with twice the wattage?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,386 Posts
I picked up 2 of the D2 and am going to run them with a 3000dsp. From what I was told and from what some of the charts that some of the in-the-know guys here have told me its a pretty darn good combination. The 6000dsp would be nicer but not necessary. Get the D2, they are very nice subs. As far as noticing a difference between the 1000 and the 3000, get the 3000 it will be nice to have headroom and be able to use it in case you decide on a set of 18's latter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,590 Posts
The 3000dsp has a peak limiter allowing you to run it in bridged mode with the ability to set the peak wattage to your liking. Headroom is worth it. Upgrades are inevitable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MemX

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
107 Posts
Thank you for this question. Same exact situation here. Building a marty with a 3000dsp and SI HT18 D2's. Sub should be here in tmrw! Now I am waiting on stock of the 3000dsp.

Ok, so am I correct in thinking I can just connect a positive from one voice coil and a neg from another and stay at 2ohm?

In other words, how should I wire this lol
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,618 Posts
Question: for not much price difference would the Inuke6000DSP be not to much overkill to run 2 D2's in 2 "tallMarty's"?

I am tracking one , new, on Ebay for about $400. and right now I see one at Sweetwater also for $400.

its like getting another "3000" for only $120.00.

thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
822 Posts
I opted to get the 6000DSP from sweetwater for a pair of SI 18HT. More power than I need. That's the way I like it. Easy to put in a limiter through the DSP to prevent destroying the woofers, while not ever needing to have a heavy load on the amp.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,595 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony_Gomez  /t/1519900/which-inuke-for-si-d2-sub#post_24416977


I opted to get the 6000DSP from sweetwater for a pair of SI 18HT. More power than I need. That's the way I like it. Easy to put in a limiter through the DSP to prevent destroying the woofers, while not ever needing to have a heavy load on the amp.

Yes! That is more like it. Always get more than you "think" you need.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,595 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by asarose247  /t/1519900/which-inuke-for-si-d2-sub#post_24416962


Question: for not much price difference would the Inuke6000DSP be not to much overkill to run 2 D2's in 2 "tallMarty's"?

I am tracking one , new, on Ebay for about $400. and right now I see one at Sweetwater also for $400.

its like getting another "3000" for only $120.00.

thanks.

No such thing. They have gain knobs. Would a Ferrari be too much car for the road??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,590 Posts
No such thing as too much headroom..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
I have had experience with a lot of car audio systems and have "overpowered" every one of them. Keep in mind that you will NEVER have the amp at 100% volume and the more headroom the better the sound quality and the easier the amp is worked. Overworked, overheated, electronics don't perform well nor do they last long.


I have two SI 18" D2 and ordered the nu6000dsp.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,271 Posts
i was running two SI 18's off one EP4000 which is about the same as a inuke 3000 and i could clip the amp regularly without the driver showing any sign of distress, but they were sealed. in a ported enclosure, i wouldnt want more juice on it than the 3000 can put out. yeah, you can always dial it back, but you're already at more than enough. its your money though.


just my .02
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751  /t/1519900/which-inuke-for-si-d2-sub#post_24417676


i was running two SI 18's off one EP4000 which is about the same as a inuke 3000 and i could clip the amp regularly without the driver showing any sign of distress, but they were sealed. in a ported enclosure, i wouldnt want more juice on it than the 3000 can put out. yeah, you can always dial it back, but you're already at more than enough. its your money though.


just my .02

Were they d2 or d4? Big difference in power depending on which, correct?


I'm thinking about going with Dayton HO D4s to get a 2ohm load from the 3000dsp. Same measurements as the SI in a MartySub.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
502 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751  /t/1519900/which-inuke-for-si-d2-sub/0_100#post_24417676


i was running two SI 18's off one EP4000 which is about the same as a inuke 3000 and i could clip the amp regularly without the driver showing any sign of distress, but they were sealed. in a ported enclosure, i wouldnt want more juice on it than the 3000 can put out. yeah, you can always dial it back, but you're already at more than enough. its your money though.


just my .02
I don't think that the iNuke 3000 is quite the same as an ep4000. The latter will have more in the tank when pushed.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,271 Posts
I went looking at the real rms numbers on the 3000. 4 ohm stereo is 629 rms. 820 peak. That's enough power for this sub in a Vented enclosure IMO.


You could always get the 6000 and limit the power. And have options down the road for if you wanted to try something else.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,590 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751  /t/1519900/which-inuke-for-si-d2-sub#post_24420410


I went looking at the real rms numbers on the 3000. 4 ohm stereo is 629 rms. 820 peak. That's enough power for this sub in a Vented enclosure IMO.


You could always get the 6000 and limit the power. And have options down the road for if you wanted to try something else.

Or get the 3000 and limit the power in bridged mode. That's how I'm using mine, 1380 watts
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top