AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just discovered that neither my new Denon 3803 receiver nor Denon DVD1600 DVD player includes any fiber optic cable interconnects. I'm new to using TOSLINK type cables. What are the best value cables to purchase. Seems that the $5.00 version should work as good as the $50+ cables that some companies are selling since its pure digital.

Thanks for your input

Bartstar

·
Registered
32,172 Posts
I would buy the cheap one... In fact, I do... PartsExpress, an AVS Forum sponsor, for example, offers nice, inexpensive TOSlink cables.

·
Registered
11 Posts
I may be wrong and I'm sure someone will correct me if i'm too far off the mark.

I believe that when it come to *optical* digital cables you are wll advised to spend the money and get a decent glass cable as opposed to a cheap plastic one. Although it is digital and one would think if it works it works, that may hold truer for coaxial digital cables but TOSLINK seem to suffer from "Jitter" and it is more pronounced with a cheap plastic cable.

Just try a search for "Jitter + Toslink" and you should find something. Whether or not i could hear a difference, I dunno. But you know how us "Audiophiles" obsess over details...

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by babaji
I may be wrong and I'm sure someone will correct me if i'm too far off the mark.

I believe that when it come to *optical* digital cables you are wll advised to spend the money and get a decent glass cable as opposed to a cheap plastic one. Although it is digital and one would think if it works it works, that may hold truer for coaxial digital cables but TOSLINK seem to suffer from "Jitter" and it is more pronounced with a cheap plastic cable.

Just try a search for "Jitter + Toslink" and you should find something. Whether or not i could hear a difference, I dunno. But you know how us "Audiophiles" obsess over details...