AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start by saying this is simply a lesson learned. Way back when I was a sys admin some years ago, we purchased computers from many vendors. Every vendor had problems now and then but one thing remained consistent: Regardless of the PC Vendor, Western Digital Hard Drives had more problems.

When I built a media server about 8 months ago I revisited the question of whose HDs should I use. I had been using Quantum, Maxtor, and Seagate HDs in 24/7 operation (RAID 0/RAID 1) for some time without problems. I decided to reconsider WD since so much time had passed since I was a sys admin and I generally read positive things about WD these days.

Unfortunately, like clock work every HD (WD) I purchased for use in my media server (3ware - RAID 5 config) has died, all within 1 month of the others. Because they did not die at the exact same time I was able to save my data. And they were under warranty so I did not have to pay for new ones. But that is not enough for me to regain my confidence.

Has anyone else had similar experiences? Maybe next time I will buy the Maxtor MAXLINE drives that are advertised as being designed for 24/7 operation.

FYI, its a pretty solid set up with an antec truepower power supply, multiple fans, and space between the drives. Also, I have one other drive in the case (quantum) that is several years old and still runs like a charm.

·
Registered
122 Posts