AVS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using SageTv for 7 years or so and the last 2 years I have been using it with an extender.

The extender is way more stable, it requires less reboots and it causes the computer hosting to almost never need to be rebooted.

It's just terrific!

But now that I am looking to add more clients to the system I find that SageTv has been gobbled up and most likely killed.

So my research had led me to believe that Windows Media Center is the way to go as a replacement. [Please feel free to suggest an alternative]

But that all of the Extenders have been discontinued except the Xbox?

Where did they go?

Is this just temporary?

·
Registered
3,118 Posts
They were too far ahead of their time.

At launch these things cost several hundred dollars so you were better off getting an Xbox 360.

Another suspicion is that far too many people were trying to use them over wifi. At the same time, avi files and their common codecs were being phased out by most users in favor of h264/vc1 and new containers (mkv, m2ts, etc). Their file support was too limited and their processing power was relatively weak. So people bought them without really know what they were/were not capable of and probably became dissatisfied by poor performance.

The cost to license the Microsoft technology most also be almost prohibitively high. I've said for a while that a WMC extender mode would be a great feature for a Roku or Boxee Box.

There is a new extender by Ceton, maker of two of the competing cable card tuners coming out this year. They will be going into beta test status in the next few weeks. This will be the first modern extender with increased capabilities for new video types and internet streaming support.

·
Registered
1,879 Posts